Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LisaT
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I had read a lot of the reviews, and I was a little skeptical. I used dark Karo syrup and regular sugar...I let my candy themometer reach to 300...I read on another site to put the vinegar and bakng soda in last.....I stirred the vinegar in first, then quickly added the baking soda, poured in a greased pan, lined with tin foil..I then put in a 200 degree oven for ten minutes, and then lowered it to 175 for another ten minutes like Lisa K said.. it cooled quickly, I took a bite, and it was pretty hard. I almost threw in the towel, but waited a little longer, it came out of my pan whole and I just broke the pieces with my hand. The middle was a little more like it should have been. Put the pieces into melted chocolate with a little coconut oil on waxed paper. Yum! Next time I am going to try with brown sugar and perhaps a better chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I worked in a chocolate factory for years - just a tip - fully cover your sponge candy with chocolate for best storage. Even a small hole in the chocolate will make your sponge get stale very quickly. I spent hours weeding out the uncovered sponge to put into the imperfect for sale pile. store in a cool place but never the refrigerator or freezer, should store well for months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Yes - finally SUCCESS!! I've been making this candy using this recipe for 4 or 5 yr now. Best candy ever but frustrating to make. We make for Christmas, but it takes 4 - 5 tries to get 2 - 3 good batches. Well, this year I went back and read all the reviews and made some changes and ended up with 2 perfect batches for 2 tries!! Per Lisa K, we sifted the baking soda, used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar (in place of 1 cup white), used parchment paper to line the pan, put in 225 degree oven for 10 min after we poured into pan, then lowered to 170 for 10 min more (amazed it continues used to puff up), and lastly scored with a knife and then broke by hand into (mostly) perfect pieces (did try the pizza cutter but got very crumbly results. Thought I would put all these tips in one place. I'm so excited I don't have to go through numerous ruined batches to get the couple of good ones I need for the holidays. This truly is a family favorite and want to thank everyone for the great tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Huhman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This may not be the easiest thing to make, but they are so yummy it is worth every minutes of angst trying to get these out of the pan. Reminds me of the store-bought candy that is nearly impossible to find these days. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
When I was a child (many, many years ago), my mother used to buy (and hide) this candy at the Dutch Mill Candy store. When they closed their stores, she found it at a little neighborhood candy store. I made this for old time's sake. I made this recipe using about half light brown sugar and half granulated sugar. The end result doesn't appear to be as thick as the pictures for this recipe but the taste is right on target. I poured the cooked syrup into a pan lined with buttered non-stick foil (some people call me Mr. Monk).Thank you so much for posting this recipe it brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this recipe and it came out looking like its supposed to but it had a bitter vinegar taste. I wonder if I can omit the vinegar so it tastes like what its supposed to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
My grandmother used to make this for her Christmas boxes I never realized how simple it really is. Followed directions to a t had everything prepared buttered pan lined with parchment, sifted baking soda. Also dipped in semi-sweet chocolate with a bit of shortening and it was exactly like I remembered. Also used Lisa K.'s tips will be adding it to my Christmas treat lists! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Really interesting! I made it without the chocolate dipping and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I love this candy! My grandma used to buy it when I was young, but I could never find it in the stores. My sister know a store that carries it at Christmas, however,she likes this much better.I have been making it for the last 3 years, for some reason this year the first batch was the best I have ever made. Too bad the other batches have not come out so great. Baking it does work very good but the taste seems a little off to me. I will keep making this for years, my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirstin Hendrickson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I grew up on this in Wisconsin, we bought it from the store and it was a favorite Christmas treat. When we moved to Oklahoma when I was a teenager, no one had heard of it and it was not commercially available in any of the stores. I was so glad I still had the recipe from my junior high Holiday Foods class, it is the same as this recipe. It makes a great gift for our local friends since it is such a novelty here, everyone seems to fall in love with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States