Angel Food Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I likes this recipe, it was easy to make, especially not having a jelly roll pan. I was unsure how it would turn out because i thought the cake would stick to the towel, but it came out just fine. The strawberry yogurt was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was really good - and super easy to make. I would imagine you could use about any flavors you wanted to. Thanks for an easy and yummy low-cal/low-fat dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was a great recipe! I -love- angel food cake. Though yogurt has never really been my thing, so I filled it with vanilla ice cream instead (which turned out amazing). What I love about cake roll recipes is that they're extremely versatile. You can add pumpkin flavor for Halloween or Thanksgiving, and peppermint flavor for Christmas. (food coloring to match the holiday, too, if you want to go the extra mile). You can fill them with ice cream, whipped cream, jelly, yogurt, well.. pretty much anything. You can flavor the cake itself with a little cocoa powder for a nice chocolate flavor. Just giving some suggestions, there, for people who might like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
didn't like the filling. The cake itself is very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday. He said he wanted Angel Food cake so I wanted to do something different. I only had one shot at it, so I decided to make it as a layer cake instead. The flavor and amazing-ness was in the frosting. Everyone loved it because it wasn't a heavy and overly sweet frosting. You could literally eat gobs of it at a time and just want more. I used a fruit-on-the-bottom yogurt and topped the cake with halved strawberries. I also served it with a berry only fruit salad with a pineapple-sugar glaze. YUMMY! Looked beautiful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOHara87

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dexter, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
We love this! Very diet friendly! Our favorite combos are: black forest yogurt w/choc. pudding and blackberry yogurt with vanilla pudding. Tried it with lemon yogurt and lemon pudding and it had way too fake of a lemon flavor. Just about any berry yogurt works well. Made a berry compote sauce one time - delicious! Be sure to add pudding mix and incorporate little by little or you'll get clumpy filling. I always ended up with a lot of extra filling that didn't fit in the roll. I just serve it in a dollop on the side. Hubby eats it plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Weeeeelllllll......I don't have a jelly roll pan, so I baked the cake in a smaller size pan than what was required by the recipe. Once I lathered on the filling generously, it didn't want to roll back up. No worries! I just served it as was: angel food cake with strawberry whipped topping. It was delicious!!! I would definitely make it again...with the right pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This didn't go over all that well. It went together fine, just wasn't all that tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Baking the cake and rolling it was very easy. I used Greek yogurt with strawberries on the bottom. I should have used regular yogurt since it was way too thick and balled up like dense cookie dough after I added the pudding mix. Greek yogurt is my favorite but it's not suited for this. I used the whole container of Cool Whip since I had to beat the first 2 cups hard to incorporate it into the big ball of yogurt and pudding mix. It's in the freezer now and I can't wait to try it. Will update the star rating after taste testing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States