Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Much better than store-bought. The texture came out chewy and spongy, which how I think an Angel Food cake should be. Just so you know, apparently it's true that any water or tiny bit of egg yolk in with the egg whites will make them very hard to beat. I made two batches of this separately. For the first batch, the eggs whipped up great. For the second batch, I had washed the bowl and dried it thoroughly, but it's possible it still had some moisture. Then I got a teeny, tiny bit of egg yolk in with the whites. I didn't see how that could matter, but it took 3 times as long to beat the whites before they started fluffing up. The good news is they did eventually fluff up, so if that happens to you don't lose hope and throw them out. I did one cake in a bundt pan and one in a spring form pan (without a center cone). I was worried that not having an angel food cake pan would cause problems, but they both came out great. They cooked evenly and the center didn't fall in or anything like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I've been using this recipe for a few years, and just realized I haven't reviewed it. I didn't grow up with angel food cake. I had the impression that it was plain, unexciting, sweet, dry . . . with a Styrofoam texture. My husband was asking for an angel food cake, so I borrowed a pan from a girlfriend and made one. It is *really* different from any other type of cake, and I was nervous about it. But it turned out well! My husband and daughter will cut off big pieces and eat them plain. The smell reminds me of roasted marshmallows. :-) Even though I've made this plenty of times, I'm still not as comfortable making it as a regular cake. But they love it so much, it's worth it. ~~~Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chanel0824
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I only book mark "never fail recipe", this is one of them. I zested one lemon to make a lemony angel food cake and the flavor turned out great. I agree with the 350F, otherwise the cake will be too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanel0824

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I have made this recipe a number of times now and every time it has turned out perfectly. The only change I made was to use a bit of almond extract. As an American living overseas this recipe is very much appreciated because we can't get angel food cake box mix here. In my opinion, this tastes better than any box mix I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I had 6 egg whites to use up after making hollandaise sauce, so I made half of this recipe in an 8" square pan and baked for 25 minutes. Easy and delicious recipe, no need for any changes. Folding the flour in very carefully and gently is the key, as is making sure you don't overmix. It's okay if there are still some small lumps. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The cake turned out Superb! My cake fell out of the freaking pan when I inverted it! My son said it tastes like a delicous marshmallow from heaven but the entire cake is in a heap and broken to smithereens. I'm still using it but where did I go wrong? It's they typical 10 inch tube pan. ARGH! UPDATE: When you make this the first time, don't listen to the person who says to only cook it 35 minutes... The reason the cake falls after being inverted (I found out) is because it isn't done. The Pro's say it's better to overcook and Angel Food than under cook and that's exactly what happened with mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Followed measurements exactly and it made a wonderful angel food cake! I cooked this at 350 for 40 minutes because I was afraid of it getting too brown. Turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vha2581
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Had to make a smaller recipe, but it came out good. Maybe it was me but it was burning a bit. Still good. Would make again and check or see what I could do different to fix this. Not bad for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
The bottom (which was the top of the cake while baking) was becoming crunchy while the top (bottom during baking) must not have been done yet. When I flipped this over and let it sit for the appropriate amount of time, it fell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Nothing wrong with this recipe, but flavor not the greatest. Next time I will decrease cream of tartar to 1 tsp and salt to 1/4 tsp. Had a slight tang from the acid (cream of tartar) and I could taste salt. It did fall out of the pan when doing the upside down cooling trick; I think it could have cooked another 3-5 minutes and maybe it wouldn't have fallen. Great way to use up lots of egg whites after making 1 gallon frozen custard with our farm fresh eggs and goats milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States