Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Excellent excellent recipe!! The cake was moist and flavorful baked at 40 mins. I have had failures with angel food in the past. So I know the importance of washing beaters, utensils, bowl & pan in hot soapy water & swish w/white vinegar. I also made sure the egg whites were absolutely room temp. The results were PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Great angel food cake! I did this recipe to use up a large number of leftover egg whites, and I wasn't even expecting it to come out. It was very simple, and delicious to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe was great! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used all-purpose flour. Like other reviewers, I made these into muffins and then made individual strawberry shortcakes. I cut each muffin in half, removing the top, and put a spoonful of homemade whipped topping, a spoonful of cut up fresh strawberries, replaced the top of the muffin, and topped it off with another spoonful of whipped topping. They turned out light, sweet, and easy to handle - and only approx 90 calories each! Bonus! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was the first dessert that has ever gone from the oven to the trash can. I had no problem with it rising or sticking. The taste & texture of this cake was horrible. My 8 year old spit this out so quick and trust me when it comes to sweets he is not hard to please. My husband who loves sweets said it was "nasty" and "tasted like eggs, only worse" sorry for the bad review but this recipe needs help. Will not make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My brother's favorite. I've made it 5 plus times, and it always comes out perfect: light and springy, the way angel foodcake is supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I used Eggbeaters boxed egg whites so I didn't need to worry about what to do with 12 yolks & that was helpful. I only had a silicone bundt pan to use & the cake stuck but it rose nicely, had a nice texture &.....I hated it. It was so sweet it gave me a headache. I don't think it's the recipe at all, just my personal taste. Thanks for sharing it:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I baked this at 375 and at about 35 minutes the top burnt. I dont even care how it tastes at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Love this, love this, love this! You can do so many things with angelfood cake anyway. I did use the advice of a former rater and mix 1/8 cornstarch w/ 7/8 flour because we are 110 miles from town and I never have cake flour either. I save my whites from making eggs benedict and other things requiring yolks only, and freeze them, so I can make this whenever I want to, using 1 egg white= 1 fl oz, or 2 TBL, or 1/4 cup = 2 lg egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I was really skeptical while I was making this. It stuck to the pan slightly and when you fold the flour into the eggs it doesn't really dissolve. However, the cake was SO awesome. Highly recommend. You can cut the sugar down, it was pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now, and both times it has turned out great! It always comes out golden brown and rises properly. The only problem with this is that the second time I made this cake I put it in for 42 minutes; it came out golden but in a few areas it began getting very dark. I would suggest putting the cake in for about 40 minutes, check it, and judge it from there. Other than this, this recipe for Angel Food Cake is great and is sure to satisfy your sweet tooth without the fat other types of cakes have. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States