Angel Food Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Nothing wrong with this recipe, but flavor not the greatest. Next time I will decrease cream of tartar to 1 tsp and salt to 1/4 tsp. Had a slight tang from the acid (cream of tartar) and I could taste salt. It did fall out of the pan when doing the upside down cooling trick; I think it could have cooked another 3-5 minutes and maybe it wouldn't have fallen. Great way to use up lots of egg whites after making 1 gallon frozen custard with our farm fresh eggs and goats milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
If you have a Kitchenaid 5 quart stand mixer, you'll find that when you're beating the egg whites, it will reach the top of the bowl and almost flow over. I made the mistake of trying to fold the flour in the 5 qt bowl and ended up working it too much which resulted in the cake not rising. However, even with the cake only baking to half the size, the taste was wonderful. The next time I will transfer the egg whites to a larger bowl so I will have more room to fold the mixture. I used a little more than 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups. I didn't want too sweet of a cake. The taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
The cake just tasted eggy and a bit doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mel
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Awesome recipe! Light, fluffy, & delicious! I made it to make as strawberry shortcake... Everyone started eating it before I even assembled the "shortcake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great recipe just as is. Sooooo good right out of the pan. Crispy outer texture, and soft melt-in-your-mouth moist cake goodness inside. Can't go wrong on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lizzy :)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is a great cake! We whipped up some whipped cream ( 1/2 c. Heavy cream and 2 tsp. powdered sugar ) and topped it with some freshly picked berries and a sprig of mint. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter except I used vanilla and almond extracts 50/50 . Everything was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I had really high hopes for this recipie. It WAS super fast and easy to prepare, but the end result was very dense and seemed almost undercooked even after browned. Not the light & fluffy cake I wanted, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe was WAY too egg-y. Like think quiche with sugar, and you've nailed this recipe. Yes, it did have the consistency of angel food cake, but it tasted and smelled like eggs. Oh, and as another reviewer posted, yes you can substitute baking soda for cream of tartar (at 1-1 ratio).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
It was very delicious. I did substitute cream of tartar with baking powder since I didn't have any on hand. I also turned the heat down to 325 while baking. I will definitely make this again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States