Angel Food Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was a really great, simple recipe. I have always thought I couldn't make an angel food cake, but we enjoyed this! I didn't use the cream of tartar (didn't have it) and it still came out nice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I think the baking time and temp may be off on this. It just didn't seem to bake right I guess, seemed too wet... I think it may benefit from a lower oven temp and a longer baking time. Anyway, I added 1/2 cup of red, white, and blue sprinkles to the batter because I made it for the 4th of July. I froze the cake, then after it was frozen I wrapped it in plastic wrap and kept it frozen for a couple days until I was ready to frost it. I had to triple the frosting recipe to get the coverage and decor I needed. Then I added blueberries and sliced strawberries for decoration. Turned out very pretty, tasted good too. The mystery of the sogginess evades me, but I'll try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I love this recipe - it is easy to do, but the almond extract and cream of tartar really make it excellent. The only thing I change is that I cut the white sugar down to 3/4 cup. I don't like things super sweet and this makes it perfect. I also don't use the frosting. I just whip some cream with a little powdered sugar and slice fresh strawberries. Delish! It's dangerous to keep on the counter. I am always grabbing chunks as I walk by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I made this for a very special baby shower. Everyone loved it and said it was sooo much better than store bought or from a boxed mix. I added lemon juice and lemon zest to the mix with the vanilla. For the "frosting", made a lemon glaze for the top and just a little drizzled down over the side and decorated it with whole strawberries. It looks better if the strawberries are fresh so that the taste is optimum and the green tops look better. Definately will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
wow delish in a dish corny but true
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah J
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I think I may have used the wrong pan, but it came out a bit heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is my first angel food cake and this recipe is fabulous! Light yet rich and so sweet and fragrant. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
My first cake from scratch and it was unbelievable. Pipe a mix of 8oz Neufchatel cheese, 3 cups conf sugar, 1 tsp van extract sparingly across it and sprinkle with strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries. It made a wonderful summertime birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Wonderful angel food cake recipe! I made this for my daughter's 15th birthday, she loves angel food cake. She wanted a "funfetti" cake, so I added in about a half of cup or so of sprinkles and it was so adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I use a 9x13 greased pan and bake for 25 minutes. With no fat in the cake and only 1/4 cup butter in the frosting, I make this cake every week. My husband and I can't get enough. I made it for a family party today and two of my sisters wanted the recipe. It's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States