Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
FANTASTIC. It's easy to make, comes out PERFECT every time. It's nice to have something I can make from scratch, without additives, and not have to rely on something that came out of a box. My whole family loves this cake...even plain with nothing on it...of course, a few strawberries make it even better. After reading the other reviews, I have some suggestions: 1. Make sure all utinsels used are grease free - any grease can cause your cake to fall. 2. Line bottom of cake pan with wax paper. Before taking cake out of pan, slip a knife around the outside and inside of pan...your cake will come out perfectly. Once out, take the wax paper off the top of cake. 3. If you are seperating your own egg white, remember ANY yoke in the egg white will cause your cake to fall. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
SUPER easy and SUPER yummy. Scroll down for some great tips on releasing the cake from the pan. I highly recommend parchment paper at the bottom of the tube pan. I also found a GREAT trick for separating eggs.... USE A FUNNEL!!! The whites slip right out and the yokes are kept in the funnel! Just be sure to separate over a separate bowl so that if a yoke does slip through, it won't spoil the whole bunch. Also, the almond extract is a GREAT addition to this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTORELLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Fluffy and moist, not at all like styrofoam that you get at the grocery. I made mine with half chocolate glaze and half with stawberrys and whipped cream. Both were delicious! Also use Pam non-stick spray when cooking to avoid the cake sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Don't be afraid to try this - it's SO good! I made it and a cake mix version for a family party to compare as a kind of "experiment" - the from scratch definitely won! Though a little more time-consuming, it's not hard at all and definitely worth it. I always serve with a mixture of lite Cool Whip (1 medium tub)and strawberry yogurt (1 cup) as a center and top layer and each piece topped with fresh sliced strawberries. RAVE reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I thought that this cake would have come out completely different. I cooked it for one hour and it was a beautiful golden brown, but when i went to take it out of the pan (besides it sticking to everything!) it looked as though it could have cooked 10 more minutes. Taking the cake out of the pan was a completely different story. It looked like I let my son take it out of the pan with his hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
I baked it for the time it said and it came out really dry. I tried making it a second time, This time for less time and less sugar, and it turned out better, but still not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Never made an angel food cake before, and this is the greatest one I've ever tried. It was incredibly easy, and my whole family loved it. It's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTHNYBEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moselle, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I think this recipe works well. I used it for my science fair project and I worked great. If u want to make it for cupcakes, only bake it for about half and hour though.It also got a little sticky after staying in the fridge. Overall, this recipe is worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Cake did not rise - it stuck badly to the pan. The flavor is okay, but it wasn't very light. I was careful with my eggwhites, but for some reason, the recipe did not turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by So Cal Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was good, I ate 3 pieces! My family really liked it too. The only thing I changed was that I didn't whip the egg whites to stiff peaks. When you make angel food, you're not supposed to whip them to very stiff peaks because that expands the walls of the bubbles to their full capacity, so then they won't rise anymore in the oven. I whipped mine to a good thick foam, then added the cream of tartar, whipped them to soft peaks, added the extracts, then whipped just enough to incorporate them. My batter was POURABLE, I didn't have to scoop it into the pan. Also, when you mix the flour mixture in, gently fold it in with a spatula, or else you'll pop the tiny bubbles and it will deflate. I cooled my cake in the pan on the counter, no bottle or funnel, just balance... and it was fine (make sure you cool it completely!!!). I did use a tube pan with a removable bottom, I also highly recommend that. I served up the slices with macerated strawberry slices and sweetened whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States