Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Manal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Was very pleased when this recipe turned out great the first time I made it. I used this recipe to use up a carton of egg whites leftover from another recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and processed the white sugar in the food processor so that it was fine. Then I added the cake flour (I used Swansdown) and the salt to the sugar in the food processor to sift together. I used a hand mixer to beat the egg whites. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I do not recommend this recipe. Like other reviews have said, this cake was EXTREMELY DIFFICULT to get out of the pan! When we tried to eat the cake, it was somewhere between chewy and hard/crispy (you can only imagine)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I followed this recipe to the T and it came out flat and like rubber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loganmyangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Superb!!! I have never made an angel food cake before, but this is SO easy and OH SO good! It is a bit denser than some other angel food cakes I have had, but that's what makes it so good! Served it with fresh blueberries and strawberries and whipped cream made from scratch. I Highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This Angel Food Cake was AMAZING! my family gobbled it up in ten minutes. I didn't have a few of the ingredients, so I substituted them; Cream of Tartar=1Tbs. Vinegar, and Cake Flour=1 3/4 C. all purpose flour + 1/4 C. Cornstarch. I was a little nervous about the substitutions but they worked like magic! Oh, and I didn't have any almond extract so I used Banana Extract, (It gave it a nice banana flavor) I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The flavor was good: not too sweet. It was a bit denser than I was hoping for but I made a newbie mistake. "Gently combine the egg whites with the dry ingredients" actually means "fold the dry ingredients into the egg whites." I just decided to go on beating with my handheld. With that change, this would get 5 stars. That being said, this is the first semi-successful Angel Food Cake I've ever managed to pull off...they usually end up about resembling a small white tire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Kcoooorey
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
made these as cupcakes and they just tasted like a big marshmallow. will use a pan next time, but still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kcoooorey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is good, but I still prefer the usual recipe my family uses. We all have different tastes, and this is very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good cake. I didn't have cake flour, so I used 1 cup of ap flour. I ended up using a dozen of eggs for the whites. I took some advice and whipped egg whites to foam, added crm of tartar and then whipped to soft peaks, then mixed in extracts. It rose beautifully, and has a nice light almondy taste to it. Yum! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States