Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Joiedevie
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I Added my own Spin to it! I used Meyer Lemon and Key Lime zest in the flour. I also used the juice of the two fruits. Glazed it with zest , juice and poedered sugar. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joiedevie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Thought it was a great little recipe. Made it once thought it came out just fine. Second time I added some chopped maraschino cherries and grated semi-sweet bakers chocolate. As far as getting the cake out I like to cool my cake up side down on top of an old empty champagne or wine bottle, then give it a good whack on a towel covered wooden cutting board, does the trick for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I had a ton of leftover egg whites from making a cookie recipe (that called for 16 egg yolks!), so I decided to finally try my hand at making angel food cake from scratch. I'm so glad we tried this one! The recipe worked beautifully. I did make a special trip to the store for cake flour. I sifted the dry ingredients 5 times. I carefully folded dry ingredients into wet (yes, it did eventually combine with this gentle stirring). I started it in a cold oven. In making the recipe as is, it came out beautifully. The almond extract was just the right amount for our family. The "crunchy" bits were especially yummy (waaaaay better than storebought cakes!). This one is a keeper and my kids and dh are begging me to make this as often as the whim hits. I admit, I put off trying this for so many years because I was really intimidated based on reports that angel food cake was just too hard, but this recipe made it flawless. I also appreciated reading the tips below. Now I have friends begging me to tell them how to succeed in making angel food cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The batter from a boxed angel food cake tastes gross before it's baked. The batter from this recipe tastes much better. The cake turned out light and moist. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Have tried to make angel food cake in the past with poor results. This one turned out perfect. Got rave reviews from my family. Will make this one many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Definitely a family favorite! I'll be making this often, upon request, I'm sure. Mine didn't stick at all, after completely cooling in the pan (a one-piece pan.) So MUCH better tasting than store-bought too! Of course it is! Isn't everything if it's made correctly?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
super great...just be sure to cook higher up in the oven for fluffy effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Age

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jfree52
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Awesome Cake! Even without using powdered sugar. Mine tasted almost like cotton candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfree52

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I LOVED this recipe!! Didn't change a thing. It was a wonderful hit for the 4th of July. I used it with a strawberry tunnel cake recipe and made from scratch whipped cream. I decorated it with blueberries and strawberries to give it that true patriotic effect. I will never buy angel food cake from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This cake is wonderful. I will never go back to store bought angel food cake/box mix again. This is so much better- much more texture and flavor. I used egg whites from a box and added cream of tartar just after the eggs started to get foamy (how I learned to do it). I was worried when mixing the dry and wet that the grainy texture or loss of egg volume would be a disaster but it was perfect. I didnt have a tube pan, just used my bundt cake pan. I cooled it upside down on a beer bottle until it was completely cool and it came out with just a little bit of loosening of the edges with a knife. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States