Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The batter from a boxed angel food cake tastes gross before it's baked. The batter from this recipe tastes much better. The cake turned out light and moist. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Have tried to make angel food cake in the past with poor results. This one turned out perfect. Got rave reviews from my family. Will make this one many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Definitely a family favorite! I'll be making this often, upon request, I'm sure. Mine didn't stick at all, after completely cooling in the pan (a one-piece pan.) So MUCH better tasting than store-bought too! Of course it is! Isn't everything if it's made correctly?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
super great...just be sure to cook higher up in the oven for fluffy effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Age

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jfree52
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Awesome Cake! Even without using powdered sugar. Mine tasted almost like cotton candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfree52

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I LOVED this recipe!! Didn't change a thing. It was a wonderful hit for the 4th of July. I used it with a strawberry tunnel cake recipe and made from scratch whipped cream. I decorated it with blueberries and strawberries to give it that true patriotic effect. I will never buy angel food cake from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This cake is wonderful. I will never go back to store bought angel food cake/box mix again. This is so much better- much more texture and flavor. I used egg whites from a box and added cream of tartar just after the eggs started to get foamy (how I learned to do it). I was worried when mixing the dry and wet that the grainy texture or loss of egg volume would be a disaster but it was perfect. I didnt have a tube pan, just used my bundt cake pan. I cooled it upside down on a beer bottle until it was completely cool and it came out with just a little bit of loosening of the edges with a knife. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This recipe has earned me some major respect amongst my friends. Even gotten helped make some money on the side. I recommend sifting 6 to 7 times if using cake flour. If regular all purpose flour I would sift 12 times. All in all this recipe is a true delicacy that makes any cake in the box be shamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I do a good amount of cooking and baking, but this was my first attempt at making a home-made Angel food cake. There is definitely a huge difference in taste. I followed another reviewers suggestion and lined the cake pan with wax paper, I also used a butter knife to loosen the edges from the pan wall. It turned out absolutely fabulous! I will definitely use this recipe for my Angel Food cakes! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirkzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This Cake is Awesome!! Be sure to use a spatula to Gently mix the dry ingred. one cup at a time into the egg white/cream of tarter/vanilla & almond extract. Just until mixed. Line your cake pan of choice with Wax Paper for easy removal and easy cleanup! The first time I made this I used a mixer to add dry ingred. and my cake did not rise. Serve with icing, or Fresh/Frozen Strawberries and Ice Cream! Or Flavored Whipped Cream! Be Creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States