Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this recipe last night for my Husband's birthday. The cake tasted wonderful. It was light and fluffy. I substituted extra vanilla for the almond extract due to personal preference. It was wonderful. I added a thin chocolate icing to the cake and it tasted heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I was unable to eat the cake, and my friends and family are always raving about my cooking and baking. Try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe came out PERFECTLY. I didn't change a thing, just cheated a little and bought cartoned egg whites. I sell baked goods at a market and this one in 'cupcake' form and as a whole cake sells faster than I can make it. Try putting fresh strawberries and strawberry syrup on top and it's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRocket

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
WONDERFUL cake! I made it for 4th of July for a neighborhood party and everyone loved it! I reccomend you make sure you have at least 12 eggs for this cake though. Great with any fresh berries and whipped cream (I colored the whipped cream so it would be patriotic :-) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara-is-a-CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Awesome recipe, I can see this becoming a family favorite in our house. Although, I would dial back the almond extract a bit, perhaps 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I wasn't crazy about the texture of this cake, but the flavor was very good. Mine turned out a little dense/tough, but that might have been because I used all-purpose flour plus cornstarch as a cake flour substitute. I did sift 5 times as instructed and tried to fold the dry ingredients as gently as possible, but perhaps I just overworked it. With fresh berries and some cool whip, it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this cake today to be used in a fruit trifle. I'm not devastated by the outcome since it will be cubed and mixed with other ingredients, but generally speaking it was a flop. I used splenda blend and carton egg whites, both which could have had a direct impact on the final results. The egg whites never formed stiff peaks - even after mixing for about 15 minutes, however they formed soft peaks. I baked the cake in a bundt pan (a quality non-stick) and I used a rubber spatula to loosen the edges - the cake came out of the pan perfectly. The flavor is good, it's just very dense. Closer to a pound cake. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This wasn't a very fluffy angel food cake, but the taste and texture were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Top notch. Not sure what the others problems were with it. Worked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Turned out beautifully!!!!!! I followed the advice about the parchment paper ,and had no trouble at all getting it out of the pan. A new familly favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States