Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Delicious! I made the angel food cake on Friday, we first ate it on Saturday. it was perfect - moist, great flavor and texture. Still fresh and moist on Monday but not much left. I have a hand mixer and you have to be patient as it takes several minutes for the egg whites to form stiff peaks. I lined the bottom of the pan with parchment paper for easier removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was a great angel food cake recipe. I substituted coconut extract for almond, but otherwise I followed it to a T. The key was as one of the reviewers mentioned, you must beat the whites into soft peaks (when they are at room temperature), then briefly beat the extracts and cream of tartar in, then FOLD the dry ingredients in gently. If you over process (or underbeat) the egg whites, the cake will not rise. I also found I needed 45 minutes not an hour in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bowling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl Cross
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Love this recipe! Very easy to follow. I'm pretty sure I didn't beat the egg whites long enough but it still turned out deliciously. I added some flavored jello(dry) to my cool whip to compliment the cake. (Kool - aid works too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Cross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Followed recipe precisely. Came out perfect. I did line the pan w parchment paper though. Saved me time cleaning up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amilynn Lucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carti
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I had make this cake many times my husband and kids love it... It is a great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Made this today, it was too sticky for my old tube pan, but in my new non stick pan sprinkled with flower it worked great. Used a cream glaze with fresh strawberries cooled and served was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! My whole family eats it up with fresh whipped cream and strawberries. There is never any left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wildgypsie
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious, I whipped some fresh cream, iced it and tossed some berries on top . I baked it in a loaf pan, it came out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildgypsie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
We love this recipe! I have made it time and time again. Everyone raves how amazing my angel food cake! I will continue to use this perfect recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Turned out great the first time I tried it. I didn't have a sifter so I just used a slotted spoon and shook it out several times. Guess it worked well enough, the cake rose and had a nice crust on it. It was a little more dense than the store bought that I've had before, but the taste was great and it was moist. With the left over egg yolks I made a sponge cake! I've been looking for recipes that use lots of eggs as I raise my own chickens. I've also read that the eggs should be room temperature, not chilled. I've tried this several times now as I'm practicing to make my daughter's wedding cake. I tried one time adding chocolate chips and marichino cherries. Doesn't work well. The chips are too heavy, you have to use shaved chocolate and the cake turned pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States