Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
Made it last night and topped it with whipped cream and fresh strawberries. Hands down the best Angel Food Cake our family has ever had! I stuck to the recipe and bake time of 60 minutes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pillowtrot
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Made this tonight to serve as a base for strawberry shortcake. I followed the recipe exactly (well, I didn't sift the flour five times...) and it was absolutely *perfect*! My wife and my mother both declared it was the best cake they'd ever eaten, and I have to admit it that, even though I made it myself, it was truly wonderful. So easy -- I used store-bought egg whites from a carton -- and truly delicious; I can't believe I never bothered to try an angel food cake from scratch before. I'll never even consider eating a store-bought cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Yes it was a little sticky but I have found one that's not. It is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I've made this twice this week. The first time I didn't beat the eggs long enough and it didn't rise very much (but was still good). The second time I beat the eggs to between a "soft peak" and a "hard peak" and it was perfect! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and added the cream of tartar after it got foamy and the extracts after soft peaks formed. I tried using vanilla and almond extracts, and then just vanilla extracts and I prefer vanilla only. I "iced" the cake with sweetened whipped cream with chunks of chocolate (I prefer dark, but milk is good too), and served macerated strawberries with vanilla bean on the side as suggested by another reviewer. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Delicious! First time making an angel food cake. So simple. Used egg whites from a carton. Turned out perfectly. Lined bottom of loose-bottom pan with parchment. Baked as recipe stated beginning with cold oven for 1 hr. but at 300 deg. as I have a convection oven. Will definitely make this again. Has pronounced almond flavour. Could substitute all vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I love this cake better than any other one I have ever eaten! My dad grew up eating his mom's angel food cake for his birthday, and when I made this one for him, both he and his brother exclaimed that it was the best one they had eaten in ages. Making this cake with whipped cream frosting is pretty simple to make and clean up is so much easier than with a traditional cake and frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This is a good cake, it is a bit sweet. Next time I think I will omit 1/2 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
yummy and fluffy and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLUEUFOSHOW
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Everyone loved this cake! I didn't have cake flour so I used the flour/cornstarch substitute. I also made glaze to go on top (other recipe). The only hard part was getting it out of the bunt pan. I suggest cooling it then using a butter knife to scrape along the sides then cooling it more in the fridge. Patience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Was more like pound cake. Too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Witha Plessel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States