Angel Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Melt in your mouth good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by romans8_38-39
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
*I wanted to try this recipe as Christmas cookies for friends who have dairy allergies. I did omit the nuts as well.* I read the other reviews before making so I made a couple of revisions. First, I added about 1/2 c. brown sugar, packed. Then I reduced the vanilla to 2 tsp. and added 2 tsp. almond extract. I also reduced the salt to 2 tsp, could have left out more. Since the batter was still sticky even after refrigerating, I just floured my hands and made balls then flattened with the floured bottom of a cup to about 3/8 inch. (I didn't bake the whole batch so I rolled the rest of the dough into balls, refrigerated them on a cookie sheet and then stored in a sealed container.) I then baked the cookies for 8 minutes and that was enough. They turned out great! They left a little indent in the middle which, when they cool, will be filled with icing, although they really don't need it! Delicious! UPDATE--For a trial run, I served these at my 4 yr-old's bday party. They were a hit! The 13 yr-old w/allergies LOVED them and begged to take some home. She was thrilled to find a cookie she could eat that wasn't plain shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These are pretty good. I had no trouble mixing the dough, but I do not have a mixer and used my hands as if I were kneading pizza dough. Then I formed the dough into logs--like premade dough from the store--stuck in the fridge for 30 min and sliced. Do NOT cut thick slices! Tried that, threw them out. My one complaint is that they didn't seem "done" by the texture. Kinda odd, but they do taste good and are great for someone who is allergic to eggs and milk, like my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
these are deliciously airy not too sweet little treats. I rated them four stars because the dough is a bit challenging to work with. you absolutley MUST allow the dough to chill or you will have a heck of a time cutting it. And be sure to slice the dough no more than half an inch thick or they wont have that light airy texture you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This dough is best if you cover it and keep it in the fridge for a while. Roll it into balls, then cool them, then throw straight into the oven. If you try and bake immediately after mixing, the dough spreads way too much. Try adding some kind of peppermint flavor. I usually chop up whatever candy I have lying around. White chocolate peppermint bark is the best, but I've used andes mints or york peppermint patties. Its fun to flavor it with extract then dye half the dough red, and make swirly cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
These are a favorite around the house, church and workplace. Will definitely keep this recipe and make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Lewis Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I was so thrilled when I finally found this receipe. It's very similar to the same cookie that I remember having on my first day of kindergarten. The recipe does make quite a few cookies. I would recommend scaling the recipe down. This a short bread cookie so it isn't very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Very good taste and husband also likes. Delicate flavor and texture. Dough was hard to work with: too much quantity for my stand mixer and even though I chilled it overnight it was hard to handle. Next time I will make 1/2 batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Yum, these taste just like pecan sandies, I didn't slice them, but scooped the dough onto a pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
I had to make these a couple of times to really get them right. They really do melt in your mouth. One little trick I do is to use butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States