Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Preheat oven to 200 degrees. When oven reaches that temp turn oven off- then put biscuits in for one hour to rise. Perfect! ** Update: We did the same as previous suggestions- only use 1/2 the amount of shortening and use butter for teh other 1/2 remaining amount. Definitely makes these much more flavorful. WOW! We just made these today for breakfast. We followed recipe exactly. My one recommendation - you MUST have the biscuits touching the other biscuits on the cookie sheet as they bake. We have made 2 other recipes and didn't put them to each other and they didn't rise. We put these together and they were perfect! I am beyond thankful for this recipe! No more Grands biscuits for us- they don't even compare to these. Thank you so much Karin! ** Also- this allrecipes.com site is the best **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I LOVE these biscuits. These are exactly what I've been looking for!I have always been disappointed with any other biscuit I've made from scratch (hard, dry) and I can't stand canned biscuits (sodium galore!). Yummy! I make the whole batch, freeze them, and reheat them a few at a time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
I've been looking for a recipe like this. Sooo good. They taste just like our favorite biscuits at Cracker Barrel. My husband loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
Delicious! I had to use powdered buttermilk, but they came out wonderfully. My family ate heaps of them and my son said I need to make these from now on. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
These biscuits turned out great! They really are a cross between a biscuit and a roll. I made enough to freeze and pull a few out at a time. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
These were very good and easy to make. Mine did not rise that much but I think that was do to my yeast. We enjoyed them and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
these are the best biscuits i've ever made! everyone says so. they take a little more effort and time but it's well worth it! i made them late at night so i was going to cut the recipe in 1/2 but decided not to at the last minute. i'm glad i didnt because my toddler son ate 3! mine didnt brown on top and i used lemon/milk instead of buttermilk and they were fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
Instead of making biscuits, I wrapped 1 lb of pre-cooked cocktail sausages with the dough and then baked according to the directions. This recipe is definitely part of my permanent collection. The next time I used margarine instead of shortening and we couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I used this recipe in one of my culinary classes, as a biscuit to use for our bread baskets. i was disappointed with the end result... the dough was stiff, the biscuits never rose, and the flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
These really are a cross between a biscuit and a roll. They turned out as described but they do not rise much, although they rise more during baking. Very good texture (heavy)... but to me the yeast taste clashes a bit with the buttermilk flavor. If you want a biscuit with a yeast flavor, you will love these. I will probably make either rolls or biscuits in the future. Thanks for sharing though, I always have fun experimenting with new recipes :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States