Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
These bicuits are awesome! My husband raved and raved about these. They are so light and fluffy. The only biscuits I'll ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I really liked this recipe. The yeast really makes a difference in creating a light and fluffy biscuit. After seeing some of the reviews complaining of lack of flavor, I opted to use half shortening and half unsalted butter...a suggestion I highly recommend. I also chilled the dough overnight. This may also help those who had difficulty with a too soft/wet dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
These are truly delicious. Great texture, good keepers if frozen and rewarmed well wrapped. Mine rose beautifully, my suggestion to others who have had difficulty is to make sure your yeast and other leavenings are absolutely fresh, and don't kill the yeast. Also, warm the buttermilk slightly. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
NO MORE HOCKEY PUCKS!!!! I am the worst baker of breads. They always came out flat and hard. Itried this recipe and everyone raved. I ended up taking them to a bake sale at work and they were sold in 5 minutes. LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
After reading all these reviews, I guess you will either love these or not care. Unfortunately, I fell into the latter. The ratio of wet to dry made a very wet batter that I could not knead nor roll out. I ended up making drop biscuits as I was out of flour after the five cups called for in the recipe. On the plus side, these made a lot. On the negative, mine never rose, they burned on the bottom and were somewhat undercooked in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These went over great for my Thanksgiving meal, even to the point that I am getting additional requests to make them. And they're great the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Really excellent. I had no baking soda, but it was not a problem. Though they don't rise much while resting (despite the yeast), they came out perfectly from the oven. So don't get stressed if they still look flat. I followed the advice to make sure they touch - I don't know if it helped, but they are great! Also, this is mega-versitile. With some of the dough, I rolled it out and sprinkled cinn & sugar in there, and it was a fine cinnamon roll. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I took these to a chili cookoff and everyone loved them. These are the best homemade biscuits I have ever had. Not hard to make either. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This recipe was good, but nothing exciting. I too had a hard time getting the dough to rise. These were just kind of plain...good...just nothing to die for. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTDOG6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
These are just great! My husband made these for dinner last night along with some beef stew, and they are so good. He followed the directions exactly....this has become our new favourite biscuit recipe. Next time, we might try making these with butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States