Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
NO MORE HOCKEY PUCKS!!!! I am the worst baker of breads. They always came out flat and hard. Itried this recipe and everyone raved. I ended up taking them to a bake sale at work and they were sold in 5 minutes. LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
After reading all these reviews, I guess you will either love these or not care. Unfortunately, I fell into the latter. The ratio of wet to dry made a very wet batter that I could not knead nor roll out. I ended up making drop biscuits as I was out of flour after the five cups called for in the recipe. On the plus side, these made a lot. On the negative, mine never rose, they burned on the bottom and were somewhat undercooked in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These went over great for my Thanksgiving meal, even to the point that I am getting additional requests to make them. And they're great the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Really excellent. I had no baking soda, but it was not a problem. Though they don't rise much while resting (despite the yeast), they came out perfectly from the oven. So don't get stressed if they still look flat. I followed the advice to make sure they touch - I don't know if it helped, but they are great! Also, this is mega-versitile. With some of the dough, I rolled it out and sprinkled cinn & sugar in there, and it was a fine cinnamon roll. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I took these to a chili cookoff and everyone loved them. These are the best homemade biscuits I have ever had. Not hard to make either. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This recipe was good, but nothing exciting. I too had a hard time getting the dough to rise. These were just kind of plain...good...just nothing to die for. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTDOG6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
These are just great! My husband made these for dinner last night along with some beef stew, and they are so good. He followed the directions exactly....this has become our new favourite biscuit recipe. Next time, we might try making these with butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Preheat oven to 200 degrees. When oven reaches that temp turn oven off- then put biscuits in for one hour to rise. Perfect! ** Update: We did the same as previous suggestions- only use 1/2 the amount of shortening and use butter for teh other 1/2 remaining amount. Definitely makes these much more flavorful. WOW! We just made these today for breakfast. We followed recipe exactly. My one recommendation - you MUST have the biscuits touching the other biscuits on the cookie sheet as they bake. We have made 2 other recipes and didn't put them to each other and they didn't rise. We put these together and they were perfect! I am beyond thankful for this recipe! No more Grands biscuits for us- they don't even compare to these. Thank you so much Karin! ** Also- this allrecipes.com site is the best **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
AWESOME...DON'T SKIMP ON THE HEAVY CREAM.....ITS WORTH THE FAT!!!!! Seriously, i did substitute half and half once and they were still good but by no means should you sub milk in place of cream ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FACSTeacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This recipe is almost exactly like one in my grandmothers church cookbook from cleburne, tx (circa 1970-something). These are excellent rolls that have been made in my family for as long as I can remember!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States