Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was not as light as I thought they would be, maybe my flour was a little old, but I have to give it only 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I have never made biscuits before but I have had angel biscuits and these were not the same as I have had. I don't know what I did wrong but these were not light and airy as I have read but they were not bad or not great...just ok for the most part tasted like a can biscuit without the height...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was my first biscuit making adventure, and it got quite messy! But it was, I'm happy to say, a success. I made it to go along with gravy, that my poor boyfriend has been waiting a year for me to make, because biscuits and gravy are his favorite breakfast. I had to compete with his grandma's! I'm very happy to say that not only was he thrilled to finally get his breakfast of choice, but that he said they were just like his grandmas and he thought I was an angel after making these, so this recipe really earned its name! :-) However, I've since found a drop bisuit recipe that is MUCH easier and just as heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Even with the substitutions I made these were amazing. I substituted 1c buttermilk with sour cream and half the shortening with butter, just due to what I had on hand. They were light and flaky and gone in a flash. The kids begged and finished their chicken just to have another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelonieF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Eating these biscuits piping hot is really heavenly. In fact, I filled up on biscuits and didn't eat the rest of my meal. The downside: long prep time and they don't reheat well. The recipe makes a lot. Even when I baked these in Bogota, Colombia (elevation 8,661 feet compared to Denver's mere 5380 feet) and they didn't raise properly, they still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I have never been a fan of baking powder biscuits but my husband loves them. These are just wonderful, I can now make biscuits that I can also enjoy. I took another reviewers advice and warmed the milk but other than that, Just Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
These were good, but a little odd. They tasted more biscuit than roll, but with a consistency of rolls that had rose-then fell. VERY easy to make, came out just like the picture. Okay with butter and honey, but I don't think I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I've made various recipes for angel biscuits over the last 30+ years and my family has always enjoyed them. However,for some reason this recipe is even better than the version I usually use. I don't know why. Maybe it's the rising time or the fact there's less sugar in these, but they're just extra fluffy and tasty. My very picky 6-year old granddaughter said I had to go on Allrecipes and tell everyone they're the best! She obviously thinks so, because she ate 9 of them! Yes, that's right - a third of the recipe! I encourage everyone who likes biscuits to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These look like canned biscuits out of the oven, but have the texture of a sourdough bicuit. I made the whole recipe, but only baked a few on the first day. The rest I froze on a cookie sheet till firm, then stored in the deep freeze in a freezer bag. Later in the week, I took them out and let them rise, it took about an hour and a half. They were fine, just like the first day, and a lot less work. I may make this a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I've made other variations of angel biscuits before, but this is by far the best recipe I've come across! There isn't a "yeasty" aftertaste, and they rose mile high. In fact, within fifteen minutes of the rising time, they were doubled! They "poofed" even higher while baking. Moist, tender, flaky, delicious...can't wait for hubby to get home to try these! Excellent, excellent recipe...it is a keeper, and my new angel biscuit recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States