Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
My family loved these biscuits. I am know for my hockey puc biscuits and am a seasoned cook...but still am never able to make good fluffy biscuits, no matter what recipe I try. My son said "I hope u saved the recipe, because these are the best biscuits you have ever made...pleae don't make any other kind" With a compliment like that, you know I will never make any others. I did use 3 cups of white whole wheat flour and 2 cups of AP flour instead of all white flour. I also used butter instead of shortening. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I had honestly forgotten about this recipe from my youth. It's just as good today. Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I have made these biscuits for years and have found the dough very versitle. We love them as biscuits, and also use the dough for pockets filled with chicken & cream cheese topped with gravy. We also use them when camping and roast the dough over the fire on a hotdog stick, then drizzle with butter and honey. They also make great pigs in a blanket over a fire. Just roast a hotdog, then wrap the dough around the hotdog and roast again until the dough is cooked. Our kids look forward to this every time we have a camp fire. (When using at the campfire, I roll the dough out on a cookie sheet and cut into serving sized pieces so that the person taking the dough only touches the piece that they use).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
These Biscuits are just wonderful. I baked a Country Ham, and they went like hotcakes. They are light and not heavy at all. I used my Kitchenaide to mix up the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
These came out very good for me. Everyone liked them. This recipe makes a lot of biscuits so be realdy to feed a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Yum! I used butter instead of shortening, and made sure they touched (just barely) when rising. They were light and delicious. Thanks, Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
We made a whole wheat version of this and loved it. We use whole wheat for every bread we make and it worked great in this recipe too. We always add 1 T vital gluten to each cup of whole wheat to give it better texture - reduce the flour by the same amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Made these late yesterday afternoon for a dinner party at a friends house. Was a bit worried since I so rarely use yeast. Per the suggestions, I added 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter and preheated the oven to 200. Unlike some of the other reviews, my biscuits did almost double in size and baked beautifully. I certainly got more than 24 biscuits, however. Everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My mother told me about this recipe. I made them and now I never want to make a regular biscuit again. They are so good! The third time I made them, we didn't have any buttermilk so I used regular milk and I also used half shortening and half butter. Big mistake! The original recipe is perfect as it is and I won't try to change it again! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States