Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
AWESOME...DON'T SKIMP ON THE HEAVY CREAM.....ITS WORTH THE FAT!!!!! Seriously, i did substitute half and half once and they were still good but by no means should you sub milk in place of cream ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FACSTeacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This recipe is almost exactly like one in my grandmothers church cookbook from cleburne, tx (circa 1970-something). These are excellent rolls that have been made in my family for as long as I can remember!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Nice recipe. These were easier to make than I thought they would be and my family enjoyed them. The reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the overall flavor wasn't great. Next time I will try butter flavor crisco instead of plain shortening and that should improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
These are wonderfully delicious! They are becoming our family's roll/biscuits! They keep well in a tuberware container in the frig for days as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
These were great! I couldn't believe how many of these my family ate. I only had one problem and I don't think it was the recipe, I think it was my yeast. They didn't rise very well so I'm going to buy new yeast and try again. It didn't matter though, the flavor was wonderful. I served them with honey and butter as well as strawberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Really good, but I cut the recipe in half because it makes so many biscuits. I served these with chicken, but I think they would be great with any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Easy to make, but not exactly the tender, light angel biscuit my mom used to make. They did not rise, nor did they brown on the top. The flavor was lacking something. I will probably keep looking for another angel biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RITA51

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Delicious! These biscuits have the texture of a tender buttermilk biscuit and the rich flavor of a yeast roll. Love 'em! A tip for lazy bakers... I usually pat biscuits into a rectangle and then cut them with a pizza cutter instead of cutting with a biscuit cutter and re-rolling scraps. Square biscuits taste just as good as round ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Met all my expectations, very good. May bake at 375 next time as bottoms started to burn at 425. Top didn't brown much, but who cares I smothered them with creamed turkey, or butter and jelly.This now will replace Betty Crocker's biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
The flavor of these biscuits is wonderful. Making them is quite easy too. I think I should have added a touch more shortening. I also should have brushed the tops with butter as the biscuits didn't brown like they should. Mine also didn't rise like I thought they would. More b.p. next time perhaps. I still think this is a wonderful recipe and I will keep it and fiddle with it. One big question though...at whose house did this recipe make 24 bicuits? At mine it only made 14! :0) We like BIG biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States