Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I live in Canada and haven't heard of angel biscuits. They are wonderful with a light texture and a mild yeasty taste. I used all butter and brushed the tops with milk. They are similar to the baking powder biscuits I have been making for 40 years but the yeast is a really nice change in flavour. These biscuits stay fresh longer than regular baking powder biscuits. P.S. I tried this recipe again, adding grated cheddar and finely chopped green onion tops. They were fabulous! I will post again when I try a different flavour. As I don't drink buttermilk, I keep on hand buttermilk powder bought in bulk. It was a good substitute because I was able to reconstitute it using warm water. I found it best to spread out the biscuits so that the ones in the center would brown. I use shiny pans with parchment paper so that may make a difference to the browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alvor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
These were good. But really not any better than the kind you pop out of a container. Sorry. We just were expecting more from these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe. It's great to make with the kids and they love to eat it. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
very soft and perfect texture. I will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I made these for Easter and they were a HUGE hit. I will make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
light and fluffy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This recipe is sooooo good! Follow the advice of previous reviewers and place your biscuits close together on the pan to rise. My husband has been requesting these often. He can hardly wait for them to rise and bake. My kids have used a whole bottle of honey eating them with butter and honey. Ummmmm! Thanks you for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
These turned out pretty good, but I thought they were a little on the dry side, and could have been more flavorful. They were really pretty though, and not too difficult. I used half shortening and half butter. They did not rise much, but then I set them on top of my stove while my oven was on (the oven is older and gets hot to the touch on the outside when in use) and they rose quite well- seems they need to be in a VERY warm, almost hot spot to rise. I had to add a bit more flour than was called for because the dough was incredibly sticky and impossible to knead when I turned it out of the bowl. Still they got demolished when I served them for Easter. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
The flavor was outstanding, the texture was more of a hockey puck...I must of did something wrong. Tried these during the Christmas holiday's and again during Easter...and the same result. Sorry...don't think I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
The Angel biscuit II was light and easy to make, but it didn't have a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States