Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Got rave reviews with these at Christmas. A trick my grandma taught me to help breads raise: heat oven to 200 degrees for 5-10 mins with a cake pan filled with inch or 2 of water inside. turn oven off and wait about 5 mins then add dough to raise. works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Amazing.... melt in your mouth,and soooo easy!!! no fat from lard, crisco or butter;) great one, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
These are good. Despite not rising very much, they turned out light. I halved the recipe, but not the amount of yeast. They did not taste too "yeasty" to me. I made the whole thing in the food processor. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I used this recipee the other night when I wanted a quick buscuit recipee with dinner. The yeast gets them started and the Baking soda/powder makes them even fluffier while baking. My guests raved and an hour after they are in the pan, You can pop them in the oven. Whats not to love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I also live in Canada and never heard of these. They are EXCELLENT!!!!! A must make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
These are light and fluffy, but the yeast flavor was too strong for me. It tasted more like a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I live in Canada and haven't heard of angel biscuits. They are wonderful with a light texture and a mild yeasty taste. I used all butter and brushed the tops with milk. They are similar to the baking powder biscuits I have been making for 40 years but the yeast is a really nice change in flavour. These biscuits stay fresh longer than regular baking powder biscuits. P.S. I tried this recipe again, adding grated cheddar and finely chopped green onion tops. They were fabulous! I will post again when I try a different flavour. As I don't drink buttermilk, I keep on hand buttermilk powder bought in bulk. It was a good substitute because I was able to reconstitute it using warm water. I found it best to spread out the biscuits so that the ones in the center would brown. I use shiny pans with parchment paper so that may make a difference to the browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alvor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
These were good. But really not any better than the kind you pop out of a container. Sorry. We just were expecting more from these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe. It's great to make with the kids and they love to eat it. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
very soft and perfect texture. I will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States