Angel Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Perfect Biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Not too bad, but they didn't rise much (and I even warmed up the buttermilk a little bit so as not to shock the yeast)...I may go back to quicker biscuit recipes that just use lots of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
I'm sure I did something wrong. They did kinda taste like the biscuits at Popeyes as one cook commented. However they didn't rise for me or look like real biscuits at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
These were really good. I let my bread machine do the mixing and I ended up adding about 2 1/2 extra cups of flour to get the right consistency. I don't know if using the bread machine made the difference or not but I needed more than the 5 cups listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This recipe was amazing. I'll use it again and again, my family begs me to make them!!! Thank You Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
These biscuits are the best I have made so far! My husband and three children really enjoyed them. My husband said they reminded him of the famous "Popeye's" biscuits. I brushed melted butter on them before I put them in the oven. They came out a nice golden brown. To top it off they were very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I was given this recipe 40 years ago by my husband's granny, Nellie Long, who lived in Poteet, Texas. The biscuits were always wonderful when she made them. She did use lard instead of shortening. Would we dare? I have had mixed results making them. However, when the angels are smiling, the biscuits are as wonderful as when Granny Long made them. I had forgotten about the recipe until I saw it on this site. Granny Long's recipe was for about 60 biscuits, so I was glad to see it had been scaled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I have searched for years for a receipe that was like my grandmothers. I finally found this one and it was great. My whole family was amazed at how much they tasted like the ones we had grown up with. I suggest anyone try this biscuit receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I used this recipe in one of my culinary classes, as a biscuit to use for our bread baskets. i was disappointed with the end result... the dough was stiff, the biscuits never rose, and the flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
these are the best biscuits i've ever made! everyone says so. they take a little more effort and time but it's well worth it! i made them late at night so i was going to cut the recipe in 1/2 but decided not to at the last minute. i'm glad i didnt because my toddler son ate 3! mine didnt brown on top and i used lemon/milk instead of buttermilk and they were fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States