Angel Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
These biscuits were amazing! Lovely texture, light, fluffy and delicious following recipe exactly as written. (my only problem was that I was out of buttermilk and had to substitute with milk and a little lemon juice). I am a baker, worked in a bakery and had my own wedding cake business for years. I LOVED these as did my whole family! They rose beautifully and baked perfectly in the 15 min. time period, after rising just 30 min.. I'm sure they would have been as good without the full 2 tbsp. of sugar-but I loved them just as written. Now in my "go-to file"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1horseshay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
After two decades and possibly thousands of biscuits that could serve as boat anchors, I have made a batch of decent biscuits. This will be the recipe I will forever forward use - No More Looking! Yay! - and will build my 'experience' upon, so that one day (later this century) my future grandkids will curse at my grave because I never wrote down the the recipe for 'my' biscuits ;P I should mention that I accidentally used a whole teaspoon of salt and they weren't salty (I HATE salty!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I have made these twice now & they are FABULOUS! I put ham in them the 1st time & then bacon the 2nd time. They were both good. Of course, I had them with a meal 1st & left-overs were with the ham & bacon the next morning. I have not had any problems with this recipe. I put them in a pre-heated oven to 200 degrees & cut the oven off when I put them in the oven for the hour. They rose just fine & were light & fluffy. I will make these again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
If they did non rise or came out hard as rocks you had one of three problems.1 yeast was old 2. water was too hot killing yeast. 3 water was too cold (yeast did not foam up) Also dough needs to be in warm area to rise not hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These were so good none of us could have just one. I loved how tender they are and how they are a mix between a biscuit and a dinner roll. I didn't have any buttermilk on hand so I mixed together 3/4 cup of milk with a teaspoon of vinegar. I let them rise for an hour and they were perfect. I baked them on a parchment paper lined baking sheet for about 12 minutes. These are great to make when you feel like dinner rolls, but you don't have enough time or patience. Thanks for the great and very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My Mom made angel biscuits all of the time when we were growing up. She passed away before I could get her recipe. This recipe brought back so many memories for me, just like my mom made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
These biscuits did not raise like I believe they should have. Is it because there was no baking soda? Other recipes includ baking soda as well as baking powder, salt and the yiest. Guess I'll try those since the "rise" is half the draw for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOOKSROGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
We liked these biscuits. They were not as fluffy and light as I would have liked them, but I might not have let the dough rise for the proper amount of time. I'll try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idealnut
Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I finally found a fluffy light biscuit!!! They are very angelic:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the_crazy_cooker
Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
mine flopped. Bland tasting. I don't know what I did wrong????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States