Angel Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
WOW!These are the biscuits I've been looking for all my life!I made a batch with whole wheat pastry flour and a little less shortening and they were still delicious!I used these to make dumplings for chicken and dumplings and,with a little sugar and cinnamon sprinkled on top,the top of a peach cobbler.Both variations were great!I will never use another biscuit recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Foolproof and versatile! Try it for cinnamon rolls (use 1/2 shortening). Dress it up rolling it out in layers w/ butter like crescent rolls. So EASY and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
My husband loves these! I didn't have any buttermilk, so I substituted 1/2 yogurt to 1/2 milk. They taste like Hungry Jacks, according to DH. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
My fiance loved these. They were tasty and easy to make. I also didn't get much rise during the proofing stage, but did while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
These are great with fried chicken, with sausage gravy, & especially with strawberries & cream! They are very easy to make & the kids eat them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This is the BEST biscuit recipe that I have ever made. Thanks Denise. Happy Baking, Bonnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Very good, but did not get much of a rise out of these even after waiting 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My Mom made angel biscuits all of the time when we were growing up. She passed away before I could get her recipe. This recipe brought back so many memories for me, just like my mom made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
These biscuits were very good! I give it only four stars because I have a non-yeast recipe that I use which eliminates the rising time. I did make these into cinnamon rolls by spreading it with melted butter after rolling it out. Then I combined brown sugar and cinnamon and sprinkled it over the top. Rolled it up, sliced it, and put them into mini muffin tins. My Sunday School class loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I don't know what I did wrong, but these came out hard as rocks and definetly not light and airy. I will probably try again but I had to resort to frozen biscuits for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States