Angel Biscuit Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
The biscuits were big and fluffy. I've tried to make biscuits before and they never came out, so I was very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
These biscuits were easy and light. My friends raved about them as did my husband & kids. I substituted about 1 Cup of Whole Wheat flour to give it a little bit more texture and used Bread flour instead of all-purpose. Excellent recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
These biscuits are incredible. I didn’t really love biscuits and these have just changed all of that. This recipe makes it easy to make light and fluffy biscuits. I didn’t have buttermilk so I used regular milk w/ a tsp of lemon juice and also I used a little more salt as suggested and butter flavored shortening. YUMMY! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
One reviewer mentioned that the dough was like gloop, and it is, but this gloopy dough makes great biscuits. In fact the best I've ever made. I wasn't real sure what to do about the shortening - it says to mix it in, but after adding liquid, in order to "mix" it in, it would have to be melted and the recipe didn't call for that. I just used half a stick of unsalted butter and half a cup of shortening and cut it into the flour mixture BEFORE adding the yeast water and buttermilk, like a traditional biscuit recipe. One thing I would have done differently is warm the milk up a bit, cold liquids tend to shock the yeast. I also would have placed these biscuits closer together. They spread out a lot but were still fluffy. I scooped the "gloopy" dough onto a liberally floured surface, liberally sprinkled more flour on top and pressed the dough out gently with my hands. I cut the biscuits out of that and transferred them quickly to the sheet, since they are very pliable. These were great. Someone mentioned more salt, I suggest using margarine or salted butter to brush the tops of them when they come out, seems to add the perfect touch. Perfect for eating with honey too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This recipe is awesome. I love that you do not have to let them rise. I have been baking for over 20 yrs. and I won a blue ribbon for my biscuits in the 5th grade 4H club. Even the teachers wanted my recipe. I made a few adaptations myself. Here's how to make them easy and PERFECT... For starters, use self-rising flour and omit the baking soda and baking powder. You just do not need them. Add extra salt, more or less to your taste, but definitely add more salt. I also added extra sugar, 1/2 cup to be exact, add to your liking. Warm milk (not HOT) to keep from shocking the yeast. Yeast needs warmth...especially since you don't let these rise. I also used 2 sticks butter (or margarine) instead of the shortening. The difference is that shortening tends to make biscuits a bit lighter than butter, but with this recipe, you don't have to worry about it. As a matter of fact, the butter gives it a better flavor and helps it to hold together better. They are very gloppy, as stated, so all you have to do is add an extra cup of flour. You will still need to flour your board good. Dough should be wet when you put it on flour. Gently roll adding flour as needed to avoid getting pin or hands all doughy, but without overdrying. Dough should be very soft and pliable. Cut with round cutter or shape into 1/2 inch thick biscuits. Place barely touching, but make sure they touch. Dough will not spread out if you add the extra flour and make sure they touch. Make sure you us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
My family loves these biscuits. There are never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
These were very good and easy to make. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
These were absolutely delicious! I followed a few of the tips from the other reviewers, and they turned out magnificently. I substituted butter for shortening, added more salt and sugar, and used half white flour, half whole wheat. My whole family raved! My dad says these were the best biscuits he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This is the best biscuit recipe I have ever made. I've never had biscuits come out so perfectly. I followed other reviewers' suggestions, but found that they're just variations on Laura's recipe, not necessarily improvements. If you like your biscuits buttery tasting, use 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening and brush with butter before and after baking, or try one of the other buttery suggestions. Adding more sugar obviously gives a sweeter biscuit. We enjoy the buttery sweet biscuits sometimes, but my family usually prefers more simple flavors to accompany gravy and for ham sandwiches. I, too, cut in chilled butter/shortening before GENTLY stirring in the warm yeast mixture and warm buttermilk. The dough is moist and very soft; refrain from overworking! Flour the biscuit cutter each time you cut. They're incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
yummy! i'm sorry mom but the family recipe has now been replaced!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States