Angel Biscuit Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
One reviewer mentioned that the dough was like gloop, and it is, but this gloopy dough makes great biscuits. In fact the best I've ever made. I wasn't real sure what to do about the shortening - it says to mix it in, but after adding liquid, in order to "mix" it in, it would have to be melted and the recipe didn't call for that. I just used half a stick of unsalted butter and half a cup of shortening and cut it into the flour mixture BEFORE adding the yeast water and buttermilk, like a traditional biscuit recipe. One thing I would have done differently is warm the milk up a bit, cold liquids tend to shock the yeast. I also would have placed these biscuits closer together. They spread out a lot but were still fluffy. I scooped the "gloopy" dough onto a liberally floured surface, liberally sprinkled more flour on top and pressed the dough out gently with my hands. I cut the biscuits out of that and transferred them quickly to the sheet, since they are very pliable. These were great. Someone mentioned more salt, I suggest using margarine or salted butter to brush the tops of them when they come out, seems to add the perfect touch. Perfect for eating with honey too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This recipe is awesome. I love that you do not have to let them rise. I have been baking for over 20 yrs. and I won a blue ribbon for my biscuits in the 5th grade 4H club. Even the teachers wanted my recipe. I made a few adaptations myself. Here's how to make them easy and PERFECT... For starters, use self-rising flour and omit the baking soda and baking powder. You just do not need them. Add extra salt, more or less to your taste, but definitely add more salt. I also added extra sugar, 1/2 cup to be exact, add to your liking. Warm milk (not HOT) to keep from shocking the yeast. Yeast needs warmth...especially since you don't let these rise. I also used 2 sticks butter (or margarine) instead of the shortening. The difference is that shortening tends to make biscuits a bit lighter than butter, but with this recipe, you don't have to worry about it. As a matter of fact, the butter gives it a better flavor and helps it to hold together better. They are very gloppy, as stated, so all you have to do is add an extra cup of flour. You will still need to flour your board good. Dough should be wet when you put it on flour. Gently roll adding flour as needed to avoid getting pin or hands all doughy, but without overdrying. Dough should be very soft and pliable. Cut with round cutter or shape into 1/2 inch thick biscuits. Place barely touching, but make sure they touch. Dough will not spread out if you add the extra flour and make sure they touch. Make sure you us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My family loved these biscuits. I used the ingredients as written but I prepared them a little different. First, cut in the shortening before you add the buttermilk and yeast mixture. Also, warm the buttermilk before you add it. It says it does not need to rest, which may be true, but you will get a lighter biscuit if you allow it to rise, covered in a draft-free place for at least 30 minutes. I allowed mine to rise for 45 minutes. Make sure you place your biscuits slightly touching so they rise in the oven nicely. I also brushed them with melted, salted butter right after they came out of the oven. They turned out wonderful. They also freeze very well. To freeze, before the rise time, put some bisuits on a cookie sheet lined with wax or parchment paper for about 30 minutes. When frozen, store in freezer bags. Whenever you want biscuits for dinner, take out however many you want an hour before baking, then bake at 400* for 10 to 12 minutes. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I wasnt sure if I was doing it right because it ended up so sticky, so I put the batter in muffin tins, and it worked out great! I used more butter than it called for, but I'm a butter fanatic. These biscuits were very easy to make. *EDIT* Well it's been a while since I first made these, but it's my #1 biscuit recipe. I always use butter instead of shortening because I just dont like shortending. It gives these biscuit rolls an excellent buttery flavor! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
These biscuits are incredible. I didn’t really love biscuits and these have just changed all of that. This recipe makes it easy to make light and fluffy biscuits. I didn’t have buttermilk so I used regular milk w/ a tsp of lemon juice and also I used a little more salt as suggested and butter flavored shortening. YUMMY! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
The biscuits were big and fluffy. I've tried to make biscuits before and they never came out, so I was very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
very good but they needed a little more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I am terrible at making biscuits, but these were absolutely delicious! I used self-rising flour and left out the baking powder and soda. I let the dough sit in the refirgerator overnight. I made sure the biscuits were slightly touching each other. They rose beautifully! They weren't going to brown on top, so I carefully turned the oven on broil for about 30 seconds and they were picture perfect. Loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryallweighs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
we needed to add a bit more flour than the recipe called for, but they turned out great once we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
The dough is like gloop. It doesn't resemble bread dough or biscuit dough at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States