Angel Biscuit Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
The dough is like gloop. It doesn't resemble bread dough or biscuit dough at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
My family loves these biscuits. There are never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
we needed to add a bit more flour than the recipe called for, but they turned out great once we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
The biscuits were big and fluffy. I've tried to make biscuits before and they never came out, so I was very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I wasnt sure if I was doing it right because it ended up so sticky, so I put the batter in muffin tins, and it worked out great! I used more butter than it called for, but I'm a butter fanatic. These biscuits were very easy to make. *EDIT* Well it's been a while since I first made these, but it's my #1 biscuit recipe. I always use butter instead of shortening because I just dont like shortending. It gives these biscuit rolls an excellent buttery flavor! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
These were very good and easy to make. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
very good but they needed a little more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
One reviewer mentioned that the dough was like gloop, and it is, but this gloopy dough makes great biscuits. In fact the best I've ever made. I wasn't real sure what to do about the shortening - it says to mix it in, but after adding liquid, in order to "mix" it in, it would have to be melted and the recipe didn't call for that. I just used half a stick of unsalted butter and half a cup of shortening and cut it into the flour mixture BEFORE adding the yeast water and buttermilk, like a traditional biscuit recipe. One thing I would have done differently is warm the milk up a bit, cold liquids tend to shock the yeast. I also would have placed these biscuits closer together. They spread out a lot but were still fluffy. I scooped the "gloopy" dough onto a liberally floured surface, liberally sprinkled more flour on top and pressed the dough out gently with my hands. I cut the biscuits out of that and transferred them quickly to the sheet, since they are very pliable. These were great. Someone mentioned more salt, I suggest using margarine or salted butter to brush the tops of them when they come out, seems to add the perfect touch. Perfect for eating with honey too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
These biscuits are incredible. I didn’t really love biscuits and these have just changed all of that. This recipe makes it easy to make light and fluffy biscuits. I didn’t have buttermilk so I used regular milk w/ a tsp of lemon juice and also I used a little more salt as suggested and butter flavored shortening. YUMMY! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
These biscuits were easy and light. My friends raved about them as did my husband & kids. I substituted about 1 Cup of Whole Wheat flour to give it a little bit more texture and used Bread flour instead of all-purpose. Excellent recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States