Angel Biscuit Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Excellent! I'm not a great fan of biscuits, but I was short on time and seeing that you did not have to let them rise, I decided to give them a try. So glad I did, they were great! The only change I made was to use 1/2 shortening & 1/2 butter -- they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
yummy! i'm sorry mom but the family recipe has now been replaced!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This is the best biscuit recipe I have ever made. I've never had biscuits come out so perfectly. I followed other reviewers' suggestions, but found that they're just variations on Laura's recipe, not necessarily improvements. If you like your biscuits buttery tasting, use 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening and brush with butter before and after baking, or try one of the other buttery suggestions. Adding more sugar obviously gives a sweeter biscuit. We enjoy the buttery sweet biscuits sometimes, but my family usually prefers more simple flavors to accompany gravy and for ham sandwiches. I, too, cut in chilled butter/shortening before GENTLY stirring in the warm yeast mixture and warm buttermilk. The dough is moist and very soft; refrain from overworking! Flour the biscuit cutter each time you cut. They're incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
I was very impressed with these, especially considering how easy they are to make! Thanks to other reviewers, I used butter flavored shortening, and placed the biscuits side-by-side on the baking sheet. I also used the milk/lemon juice shortcut for buttermilk. They came out with a definite airy feeling, although very, very buttery. They were perfect with Sausage Gravy III from this site, but may have been a little too buttery to eat by themselves. That would probably be resolved if you used regular shortening like the recipe says to :) The best part of these is how fast and easy they are to make -- who wants to work for hours on breakfast?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Recipe is very vague. What kind of shortening,solid, liquid or melted. What temperature should the buttermilk be? What is the consistency of the dough? I found them to be tasty, but not real light or fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
These were absolutely delicious! I followed a few of the tips from the other reviewers, and they turned out magnificently. I substituted butter for shortening, added more salt and sugar, and used half white flour, half whole wheat. My whole family raved! My dad says these were the best biscuits he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This recipe is awesome. I love that you do not have to let them rise. I have been baking for over 20 yrs. and I won a blue ribbon for my biscuits in the 5th grade 4H club. Even the teachers wanted my recipe. I made a few adaptations myself. Here's how to make them easy and PERFECT... For starters, use self-rising flour and omit the baking soda and baking powder. You just do not need them. Add extra salt, more or less to your taste, but definitely add more salt. I also added extra sugar, 1/2 cup to be exact, add to your liking. Warm milk (not HOT) to keep from shocking the yeast. Yeast needs warmth...especially since you don't let these rise. I also used 2 sticks butter (or margarine) instead of the shortening. The difference is that shortening tends to make biscuits a bit lighter than butter, but with this recipe, you don't have to worry about it. As a matter of fact, the butter gives it a better flavor and helps it to hold together better. They are very gloppy, as stated, so all you have to do is add an extra cup of flour. You will still need to flour your board good. Dough should be wet when you put it on flour. Gently roll adding flour as needed to avoid getting pin or hands all doughy, but without overdrying. Dough should be very soft and pliable. Cut with round cutter or shape into 1/2 inch thick biscuits. Place barely touching, but make sure they touch. Dough will not spread out if you add the extra flour and make sure they touch. Make sure you us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
These biscuits were easy and light. My friends raved about them as did my husband & kids. I substituted about 1 Cup of Whole Wheat flour to give it a little bit more texture and used Bread flour instead of all-purpose. Excellent recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
These biscuits are incredible. I didn’t really love biscuits and these have just changed all of that. This recipe makes it easy to make light and fluffy biscuits. I didn’t have buttermilk so I used regular milk w/ a tsp of lemon juice and also I used a little more salt as suggested and butter flavored shortening. YUMMY! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States