Andy's Spicy Green Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great recipe. The changes I made were adding chopped garlic and ground chipotle chili pepper it adds a nice smoky flavor. Thanks for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
DELISH! I put in even more spicy peppers as we like it hot. We eat it with taco sides in a soft yellow taco tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplyjmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Love this recipe. I made it twice for company and every enjoyed it. It's so easy to put in the slow cooker and have ready when guests arrive. The first time I made it as written, but it wasn't spicy enough. The second time I added jalepenos and sliced half of the peppers so the flavor would absorb into the meat better. I served the cooked betters on the side for those who like extra spice. I also didn't like the fattiness of the shoulder the first time, so I made it with tenderloin the second time. Great as filling for tacos or burrito bowls. The leftovers freeze well, so I doubled the recipe (using tenderloin) and had leftovers for several future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Made this the other night. Love the spice! Used leftovers to make pork tacos...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Used it in corn tortillas. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Scharf Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made this yesterday. It was great. Here are the tweaks I made: In our local supermarket, I was able to buy pork shoulder pre-cut into large chunks and packaged in 2-3 lb bunches. I used a 2 3/4 lb package for the dish. I highly recommend using shoulder (as stated in the recipe) rather than loin for this dish. I trimmed the rind and seasoned the meat with s&p and also some sazon. I added about 4 or 5 cloves of garlic which I smashed and broke up and sprinkled over the onions before adding the meat. I used a medium green salsa and 2 sliced serranos, seeds and all. I added a small amount of cumin (maybe 1/2 tspn) and about the same amount of chipotle powder. I didn't leave out any of the ingredients listed in the recipe. I cooked on low for 5 hours and the meat fell apart under gentle pressure. I fished the meat out into a bowl and shredded it. Next I poured the liquid and veggie solids through a strainer. I put 1/2 or 2/3 of the liquid back into crock pot and added the shredded meat. I then put the veggie solids and remaining liquid into a bowl and pureed with an immersion blender until smooth. The result was a delicious, thick green sauce. I served the meat on flour tortillas as soft tacos with shredded cheddar, sour cream and diced tomatoes. I spooned the green sauce on top. We both loved it. I plan to make enchiladas this weekend with the leftovers and The Best Red Enchilada Sauce from this site. Next time I will use a "hot" salsa and/or add more chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Used jalapenos and cooked in pressure cooker. Great tacos. Used leftovers huevos ranchero style with some black beans. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I doubled everything but the meat, used hot green salsa, and added cumin and garlic. I pureed everything but the meat to use as the sauce. It's pretty good. The sauce is thick enough and has a little kick to it. The meat is pretty bland without the sauce, but I have the sauce so all is well. I ate on a flour tortilla with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Thought this was delicious and easy. I stuffed the meat with sliced cloves of garlic and did not strain the sauce. Instead I used the immersion blender and that thickened up the sauce and kept all the good flavors. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Amazingly awesome, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hataxa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States