Andy's Spicy Green Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I really enjoyed this one for its simplicity. It's quite mild so I like to kick it up a notch by adding a paste of dried dark hot chillies such as pasilla, chipotle and/or ancho etc. and some water at the same time as the salsa. I also to like to make the bed of onions but I personally like to add more heat again with some chopped hatch chillies (wide hot green peppers) on top. It's doesn't add much more heat but lots of flavour. This is a great base recipe for many variations to suit your palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I love this recipe! Got me a big ol pork shoulder and followed recipe as followed. I did not have to cook as long though. Pork was tender and 6.5 hours. I added avo on my tacos and it was phenomenal. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Made with loin chops (thawed and needed to use), Herdez salsa verde, and a poblano pepper. My final dish was very good but not five star most likely because I didn't use the right cut of pork...and over-cooked...so I am rating five star and do plan to use the recipe again and follow the directions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
The meat was flavorless and the sauce wasn't that good, which is surprising since I used my favorite green salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Very yummy. And easy. What more could you ask for? I've cooked this a few times now, and these are the changes I've made. I cut the meat into large chunks and brown it first. Then I brown the onions with some chopped garlic. I cook in my digital pressure cooker with the meat on the bottom, and the salsa and onion on top. I add 1.5 cups of chicken broth(to ensure I have enough liquid in the pressure cooker). I serve the cilantro on the side, as some of my family don't like it, and skip the pepper. In October I modified it further for a chili cook-off. I added a 1.5 cups of soaked white beans (and some salt, though I can't say how much), thickened the broth with cornstarch at the end, and added some sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Definitely needed more than 8 hours on low on my slow cooker. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was terrific. I did, however, add some ingredients that we like for a fuller flavor. I added cumin, hot chili powder and a little garlic. The result was fabulous. The family was groaning as they ate it served on flour tortillas. The second round of the leftovers was made into enchiladas with white queso and pepper jack cheese sprinkled on top. Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This came out GREAT! Made my own refried beans and added this to the green chile pork. Made burritos with cheese with this and froze them for the kids/husband to grab as a quick lunch. I made sure to cook out all the juices before using in burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
A family favorite! My kids beg for it and are always super excited for green chile pork night. We use 2 serranos and 2 jalapenos to give it more kick and we slice them in half (leaving the seeds) before putting in the crockpot to make sure that flavor comes out in the sauce. We shred the meat and make tacos with a little cheese and some of that wonderful sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I've made this recipe several times. It is AMAZING!!! Love how simple it is to make, too. I serve it with tortillas, black beans, and a little plain Greek yogurt. Thanks for sharing your awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States