Andy's Spicy Green Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Wow this recipe was fantastic!! My husband is hispanic and he said this was the best 'chile verde' he has tasted in years. I took some to work and my co-workers raved about it also. I tweaked it a little. I used pork loin instead of shoulder and I used two 24 oz. jars of La Victoria green chunky salsa (medium). Very delicious. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is SO good. We ate it with tortillas, black beans, and fresh salsa. The only thing I changed was the peppers. I used a fresh jalapeno because it's what I had on hand. I cut it in half and seeded it. It gave it just enough kick but was not at all hot. Next time I might add a few more. Will make this again for sure. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and we LOVED it! I did make a few changes, but only one to the ingredients - I used a jalapeno pepper in place of the serrano because serranos are too hot for our family. I mixed all the ingredients together rather than layering them in the crock pot because I wanted all the flavors to mingle around the meat. I also used 3 lbs of pork chops because I couldn't find a 3 lb roast. The chops worked great and the flavor was wonderful. To serve the meat, I made baked chimichangas. I shredded the meat and mixed it with the solids from the salsa and onions and about 1/2 cup liquid. I then placed about 1/4 c Monterey Jack cheese on a tortilla, and then covered it with about 3/4 c meat and rolled them up. I placed them seam side down in a 9x13 baking pan, brushed the top with some butter and baked them in a 425 oven until the tops were tanned. This meat was perfect for chimichangas and I will definately make this recipe many times! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ranchwife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alturas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was so delicious! I put it in the crock pot this morning in about 5 minutes. I served it with tortillas, beans, and all kinds of other sides (e.g. lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream, cheese, roasted corn). Then we all got to create our own tasty dinner. One of the easiest and tastiest recipes I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was very good. Made it with homemade Green Salsa, another recipe on this site. The leftover freeze well and have been enjoying the leftovers as a quick dinner after work. Served on tortillas taco style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Wow ...delicious and easy. Upped the heat a little based on other reviews.....2 serranos, 2 Jalapenos and hot green salsa....perfect. Pureed the vegetables and half the cooking liquid for an awesome sauce. Served in Tortillas with refried beans, sour cream and grated cheese, green sauce on top......excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I thought this was a tasty recipe and I'll definitely make it again. Next time, I'll opt for a spicier salsa or more serranos as it came out rather mild, but still tasty. We ate it with corn tortillas, fresh tomatoes, avocado and cheese, then a second time as quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was a delicious Green Chile Pork recipe. I followed directions pretty closely, as I had all things on hand and didn't need to modify. I was a little worried a few hours after cooking because it just didn't seem like it was going to be flavorful. I waited it out, drained juices (with some reserved of course) and tasted meat...Omgoodness it was so fantastic! Even better second day per my husband! My only change will next time will be spicing up a bit more, as the serrano chiles weren't that spicy. I will probably follow others suggestions and add a jalapeno along w/ the other peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracydenese29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was great! Even better the next day. I added two serranos and two jalapeños. I served with pepper jack cheese and sliced avocados on flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We love this recipe...easy and tasty. I get requests for this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States