Andy's Spicy Green Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
DEFINITELY GREAT RECIPE. I MADE MY OWN CHILE VERDE SAUCE AND ADDED GARLIC CLOVES W/ ONIONS AND EXTRA CHILES SERRANOS AND JALAPENOS. SERVED IT WITH WARM TORTILLAS AND ALL THE MEXICAN FIXINGS. FAMILY LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anabaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This pork falls off the bone and is very tender and delicious. I used Ortega's green taco sauce, since that is the closest thing to green salsa that they had at our grocery store. I think that the flavor was a little bit bland because of it. Next time I would look harder for the green salsa, add extra peppers and more salt. Overall, this recipe is worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
made very good tacos. Some of the spiciness cooked out, so next time I'll add the fresh serrano or jalapeno peppers. I also omitted the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This has quickly become a favorite of mine. I wrapped the meat in a Flour Tortilla. Like pasta sauce, this is excellent left over. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by russ2yall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This pork is so delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and was so amazed at how savory (and not too spicy) this turned out. Had tacos with the pork the first night and made enchiladas with the second night with the leftover pork. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Super easy, but I'm not sure if the salsa I used was to bland or what, because it was not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made this for the first time tonight and everyone loved it!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made this with a large Pork Shoulder (7lbs) and doubled up on everything except the onion. I also added cumin and garlic as others suggested. This had a great flavor but was a little greasy, probably because I used such a large pork shoulder. I will make this again but use a smaller roast, trim all the fat, and cube up the meat before putting in the crokpot. I expect that the results will then be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
The dish was very tasty and flavorful. I will definitely make it again in the near future. The changes I made are the following: 1. I used home-made green salsa that I prepared following the recipe from this site. Knowing I will do more stewing, I didn't puree it. I just added meat directly in it after the sauce was ready. 2. I used pork loin instead of pork shoulder to reduce fat. 3. I cooked on a stove top in a heavy sauce pan for less than 2 hours. 4. I didn't add any additional chiles, as the salsa was very hot already. 5. I service the meat with lots of sauce on top of steamed rice. The sauce was so good, I didn't want to waste it. I even added bottled green salsa (Arriba! brand, with great fire-roasted flavor) Next time around, I will probably not make green salsa separately - I will brown the meat first, and add chopped chiles, tomatillos, onions along with water, just to make a stew. I also like to try this with other kinds of meat and maybe fish, too. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
AWESOME!!! I didnt use the peppers b/c I didnt want it too spicy but it was sooo good...And it smelled wonderful cooking it was so hard to stay away from it!! I froze alot of it and used some for tacos the next day and then made enchiladas with the remaining a few days later...Can I say it again, AWESOME...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States