Andrew's Herb Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This was a wonderful risotto recipe. I adapted it to a cardiac diet by using salt free low fat homemade chicken stock and adding a dash of red wine vinegar along with the lemon juice. The flavor of the herbs and fennel was great and made it so that no one missed the salt. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
It turned out pretty good, just a little more "different" than I was looking for out of this dish (I was cooking for my ultra traditional in-laws). The flavor combination reminded me of Tabouli (which is not a bad thing just not what I expected). I made mine vegetarian using veggie stock instead of chicken stock. Also, save the salt til the end, and be careful not to over-salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliemay7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Yum. Took longer to cook the rice - maybe 60 minutes? but it was brown rice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This is just heavenly! I had to make some adjustments based on what I had on hand - first off, I was very disappointed to find I had no white wine, so ended up using all stock, half vegetable and half chicken. I also used the fresh herbs I had on hand - rosemary, basil, chives and sweet marjoram - and even though I bought fresh mint, I decided not to use it in this. I added half the stock in the beginning, and half after that had been absorbed. Finally, used the last of my really good parmesan and was pretty generous with it - maybe a good 1/2 cup or so. This was the perfect combination of "homemade with love" and "restaurant quality". Wonderful recipe for the novice risotto maker like me! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Amazing flavor. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Nyhart Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Good risotto, but suggest a change: rosemary is a very strong herb and can overpower, so reduce it by half and put it all in early so it can meld into the dish. Very easy to make. Guests raved and wanted the recipe. Thanks Andrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This is absolutely amazing! This is the first risotto I have made. I have tried to stay clear of them because they seem difficult to make. This recipe is so easy! I make this at least once a month as a side dish. This recipe makes a lot for two people so I always take the leftovers for lunch the next day. The herb and lemon flavor combo is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
easily made vegetarian, this was a delightful risotto recipe. i especially loved the cooked herbs vs. the fresh ones. i was wary of the cooking instructions though, and made it the traditional way, adding the liquid a little at a time while stirring frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitlinleah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
STRONG FLAVOR!! It tastes great, but watch out because it may shock your tounge with the deep herb flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is good. With Risotto you always need more liquid than you think. Sadly, my husband and son did not like the lemon taste. Its quite citrusy...but I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aereish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States