Andrea's Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This soup is wonderful! My whole family loved the taste (including 3 kids!). I've made it twice and planning #3 this week! I know it's summer, but I pair it with a crispy green lettuce salad and a veggie sandwich on crusty bread...yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was really easy to make, with simple ingredients, and tasted great! I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used a 6 ounce can of tomato paste, 12 ounces of water, and a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes. I also used chicken broth instead of the 5 1/2 cups water to give it some more flavor. mmmm, it was sooo yummy and satisfying. My bf who complains whenever I make soup for dinner ate 3 bowls and said it was so good. I cooked the pasta separately so it wouldn't absorb too much liquid and get mushy, and just added a scoop of pasta to a bowl and then the soup over it. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Delicious! This is very similar to what my Italian-American mother used to make - right down to the ditalini as the pasta choice. We leave out the navy beans and double the cannellini. However, cannellini can be more expensive than most beans, so it's okay to use navy beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yummy soup. My Italian hubby loved it. Next time I may serve the pasta in a dish and just mix with each serving. The pasta tends to soak up all the broth. Maybe less pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This is a great quick and easy soup recipe. all I added was some carrots and kale to bump up the veggie nutrition. I'm always on the lookout for easy and hearty meatless recipes since I like to cook meatless a couple days a week to save on the grocery bill, and this one will definitely be added to my dinner rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Huge hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is a good soup! I only used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and added a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes undrained, used 2 cans of chicken broth instead of all water, only 1/2 tsp of salt and 8 oz of elbow macaroni. I also used great northern beans instead of navy because that's what I had and added parmesan to each bowl. It was perfect. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I grew up with "beans and macaroni" being thick. So I added the ditalini in the base and used beef broth instead of water. Also just a little crushed red pepper for some zing. End result wonderful and exactly what I was looking for. Just like grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Pasta Yumioli! I added extra cheese because everything is better with cheese (seriously, I want extra cheese on my cheese). I used veggie broth instead of water and added a can of diced tomatoes. Make sure you make your noodles separately because they are super absorbent and will SUCK all your JUICES. I sent some of this soup to my sister who was sick and it magically healed her. So I'm not gonna say this soup magically healed her but I will say it probably did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thanksalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Pasta Fagioli is wonderful recipe to make especially during Lent. Sometimes I would chop raw onions and add it to the top of the soup, which only enhances the flavors. I've been making this soup for over 60 years. Don't forget the fresh Italian bread. This is a great recipe! I wanted to add that sometimes I used ceci beans and a speck of ground hot pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States