Andrea's Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This was a bit of a trainwreck. As written, I can imagine it would be pretty flavorless -- I used vegetable broth in place of water and it was still missing something. I even added extra onion, garlic, and some chopped carrots. Complaints about there not being enough water are totally accurate. The pasta, even when precooked, totally sponges up all the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I make this quite often. Extremely simple and amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Czapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This soup is wonderful! My whole family loved the taste (including 3 kids!). I've made it twice and planning #3 this week! I know it's summer, but I pair it with a crispy green lettuce salad and a veggie sandwich on crusty bread...yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was really easy to make, with simple ingredients, and tasted great! I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used a 6 ounce can of tomato paste, 12 ounces of water, and a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes. I also used chicken broth instead of the 5 1/2 cups water to give it some more flavor. mmmm, it was sooo yummy and satisfying. My bf who complains whenever I make soup for dinner ate 3 bowls and said it was so good. I cooked the pasta separately so it wouldn't absorb too much liquid and get mushy, and just added a scoop of pasta to a bowl and then the soup over it. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Delicious! This is very similar to what my Italian-American mother used to make - right down to the ditalini as the pasta choice. We leave out the navy beans and double the cannellini. However, cannellini can be more expensive than most beans, so it's okay to use navy beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yummy soup. My Italian hubby loved it. Next time I may serve the pasta in a dish and just mix with each serving. The pasta tends to soak up all the broth. Maybe less pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This is a great quick and easy soup recipe. all I added was some carrots and kale to bump up the veggie nutrition. I'm always on the lookout for easy and hearty meatless recipes since I like to cook meatless a couple days a week to save on the grocery bill, and this one will definitely be added to my dinner rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Huge hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is a good soup! I only used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and added a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes undrained, used 2 cans of chicken broth instead of all water, only 1/2 tsp of salt and 8 oz of elbow macaroni. I also used great northern beans instead of navy because that's what I had and added parmesan to each bowl. It was perfect. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I grew up with "beans and macaroni" being thick. So I added the ditalini in the base and used beef broth instead of water. Also just a little crushed red pepper for some zing. End result wonderful and exactly what I was looking for. Just like grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States