Andrea's Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Fabulous!!! I made it with 2 cans of cannellini beans because Trader Joe's didn't have navy beans. I also kept the pasta separate, as suggested, and simmered with the lid on for the hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I was skeptical, because I don't really like tomato-based soups, but this was EXCELLENT. I followed the directions exactly, aside from adding 1 small zucchini and 2 medium carrots, both diced. We all loved it, even the picky 6-year-old who hates anything "saucy." :) Next time, I might decrease the pasta by a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Loved this - didn't have tomato sauce so I used 1 can of petite diced, and 1 box of strained crushed tomatoes - also didn't have navy beans so just added a second can of cannellini beans. Flavor was great and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Easy to put together and it was very tasty.I used some vegetable broth in place of some of the water.This is also very economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This was a bit of a trainwreck. As written, I can imagine it would be pretty flavorless -- I used vegetable broth in place of water and it was still missing something. I even added extra onion, garlic, and some chopped carrots. Complaints about there not being enough water are totally accurate. The pasta, even when precooked, totally sponges up all the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I make this quite often. Extremely simple and amazingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This soup is wonderful! My whole family loved the taste (including 3 kids!). I've made it twice and planning #3 this week! I know it's summer, but I pair it with a crispy green lettuce salad and a veggie sandwich on crusty bread...yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was really easy to make, with simple ingredients, and tasted great! I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used a 6 ounce can of tomato paste, 12 ounces of water, and a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes. I also used chicken broth instead of the 5 1/2 cups water to give it some more flavor. mmmm, it was sooo yummy and satisfying. My bf who complains whenever I make soup for dinner ate 3 bowls and said it was so good. I cooked the pasta separately so it wouldn't absorb too much liquid and get mushy, and just added a scoop of pasta to a bowl and then the soup over it. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Delicious! This is very similar to what my Italian-American mother used to make - right down to the ditalini as the pasta choice. We leave out the navy beans and double the cannellini. However, cannellini can be more expensive than most beans, so it's okay to use navy beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yummy soup. My Italian hubby loved it. Next time I may serve the pasta in a dish and just mix with each serving. The pasta tends to soak up all the broth. Maybe less pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States