Andrea's Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is an excellent dish! I made it almost to the T as described by the original author. The only thing I changed was that I added fresh basil leaves instead of dried basil. One variation if you are dieting is to use 1 less tbsp olive oil and use about 1/3 amount of pasta but substitute a multigrain ditalini or even rotini, which is easier to find at most grocery stores. Oh, one other thing, I use kidney beans and cannelini beans. This is too good to miss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Not a favorite of mine at all. Followed recipe exactly as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Recipe is great, but would recommend a few changes. I used 4 cups of chicken broth and the rest I used water. Another can of beans would be a great addition. I used the advice of others and kept the pasta and soup separate until serving, and kept remaining leftovers separate as well and mixed when reheating. One pound of pasta was too much, I'll reduce to 3/4 pound next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Very delicious and easy to make. I followed some advise from other reviews. I used chicken broth instead of water, I only used 16oz of can tomato sauce and added a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes. I also cut the pasta amount to 1/2 pound. Next time I might add some chopped fresh spinach leaves to sneak in more veggies. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was pretty good. I used red kidney beans, and I added a can of diced tomatoes and a square of beef bullion. If I make it again, I will use a smaller pasta ... I used small penne and I think it was too much, this needs a smaller shape. I would also add chiffonade spinach leaves. But overall, this had very nice flavor and I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
As an Italian-American, I have tasted many versions of pasta e fagioli, and this is excellent. For extra flavor, I replaced half of the water with chicken broth and added 1/2c red cooking wine. I also omitted the salt since both of these changes add salt. If you plan on having leftovers, you may also want to consider leaving the pasta separate until serving since it will absorb most of the liquid. You don't need quite the full pound of pasta to use up the soupy part either. One last small change I made was using a 29 oz. can of diced plum tomatoes and putting only half in the blender to leave some whole tomato pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Good, but too much pasta. Next time I'll use about 3/4 pound of ditalini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This soup was delicious! I substituted 6 cups of fat-free chicken broth for the water, didn't use the salt and added a small can of diced tomatoes. I also used about 1/2 pound of the ditalini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was excellent, I followed advice of others and replaced the water with low sodium/low fat chicken broth. I also added 1# ground chicken (only because according to my husband, it's not a meal without meat). I also used 1 can diced tomatos (italian style) & 1 can tomato sauce. My husband LOVED it - he added Creole seasoning to his helping & it did add really great flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
outstanding! changed these things. added handful of spinach, diced tomato, chicken broth instead of water. otherwise as written. i personally think the noodles took away from the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States