Andrea's Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I will admit I altered the recipe quite a bit, but relative simple changes and this turned out great! This is definitely a quick fix and don't be fooled into thinking you must have all the ingredients - experiment a little! My recommendations for improvemnent: Don't use the recommended pasta. Try using a very small amount of fideo pasta (it plumps and absorbs a lot, so use sparingly to avoid a stew like texture) or you can also try 1/2 - 2/3 cup of mini macaroni (salad macaroni). The fideo and mini macaroni can be added directly to the soup during the last 20-25 minutes of simmer time. This elimates the need to cook the pasta separately. Also, omit the salt. Substitute chicken (or beef) broth/bouillon cubes instead of the water. I used 3 cups chicken stock (bouillon) and 2 cups water (which is why I omitted the salt). I also substituted one 15oz can diced tomatoes and one 15oz can of tomato sauce instead - definitely worth this alteration! I didn't have navy beans so I used a can of chickpeas instead. Be generous with the parmesean cheese - put about a generous 1/2 cup portion instead - this helped with the overall flavor! I've made it a few times now and each time it tastes better than the last - especially with the minor adjustments! Thanks for a great starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Start by saying that I am 100% Italian. This is a recipe for pasta fagioli an Italian soup that means "pasta with beans". Pasta Fagioli does not have ground meat,carrots,celery etc. It has pasta, tomato and beans. By the way this recipe as it stands is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I was really surprised by how good this is. I've tried a lot of pasta e fagioli recipes, and none of them have tasted like what I remember eating in Italy as a child--until now. I didn't experience excessive thickening of the soup, but I did cook it with a lid on. I do recommend doing this. It is very thick the next day, but this is expected with bean-based soups, and does fine with a little water added. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This was GREAT!!! I did have to make some adjustments b/c I only had a 40 oz can of cannellini beans, so I elimated the navy beans, and used the whole can. I also added 2-14oz cans of diced tomatoes, and 1-14oz can of sauce. Used chicken broth instead of water. Added a bit of crushed red pepper for some kick, some crumbled cooked bacon, and served w/ grated asiago cheese. ALSO, cook the pasta separately and run cold water on and allow to cool before adding to soup, so it doesnt absorb all of the broth!! Great w/ crusty bread and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
My husband and I thought this was delicious. Based on some of the reviews, I decided to reduce the amount of past to 1/2 lb. In the future, I would possibly reduce this even further to 1/3 lb. Other than that, I think that it is a great recipe. I make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I have to give this recipe 5 stars because it's definitely the best recipe of it's type that I've tried, from several sources. I made a few adjustments based on the reviews...I added bite-sized carrots and celery to the onion as it was cooking. I added a 14.5 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, and used 3 cans of beans: 2 red kidney beans and 1 can of great northern beans (comparable to the other white beans called for in the recipe). I used less olive oil to cook the onion, and romano rather than parmesean cheese. I also only used 4 cups of liquid: 2 cups of water and 2 of chicken broth. I think next time I'll use the full 5 1/2 cups of liquid, as my husband thought the broth was just a bit too tomatoey. I thought it was great, and I'll definitely make it again. I served it with the Garden Herb loaf from this site, which is a hearty, chewy bread and a great companion for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was delicious. Based on other reviews, I added 1/2 package frozen spinach, chicen broth rather than water, and 1 can tomato sauce & 1 can diced tomatos. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
For all those who didn't think this was "soup," try adding the pasta to each serving individually. That way the "soup" doesn't get soaked up. I cook the pasta, put it separate bowl at the table, or in a ziplock bag and add it as I prepare servings. I do the same with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Since I’m always willing to try new recipes I tried this one, before reviewing it. While different from mine, this is a good recipe. I’m 67 years old and yes, Italian also (which doesn’t make me an authority)! I have been making my variation of Pasta Fagioli for a long time and I always use celery. For a reviewer to make such a broad statement that celery or carrots are NEVER in Pasta Fagioli, is just wrong. If you like celery or carrots in your Pasta Fagioli, by all means USE THEM! This is a peasant or farmers type meal and they had to use what they had on hand. Yes this is basically a bean and pasta soup without meat, although there are authentic recipes that use Pancetta (Italian bacon), obviously from peasants with more Lira than the average peasant… lol… so if you want meat USE IT! After all, you’re cooking to please yourself and your family. If you check Lidia Matticchio Bastianich’s recipe, (from Lydia’s Italy on PBS) her recipe has potatoes, carrots and ham hocks in it. So you see, as with any recipe, there are probably as many variations as there are cooks, and all recipes are authentic to each individual cook. Experiment and cook to satisfy yourself, that’s what makes cooking fun and exciting! Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I thought this recipe was great but needed some additions! I added 2/3 # of ground sirloin (browned), sliced carrots, sliced celery and I added one 15oz can of diced tomatoes (with juice) and one 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the large can of tomato sauce the recipe calls for. This turned out great and I also only used 1/3# of the pasta! Added extra parmesan too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States