Andrea's Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I grew up with "beans and macaroni" being thick. So I added the ditalini in the base and used beef broth instead of water. Also just a little crushed red pepper for some zing. End result wonderful and exactly what I was looking for. Just like grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Pasta Yumioli! I added extra cheese because everything is better with cheese (seriously, I want extra cheese on my cheese). I used veggie broth instead of water and added a can of diced tomatoes. Make sure you make your noodles separately because they are super absorbent and will SUCK all your JUICES. I sent some of this soup to my sister who was sick and it magically healed her. So I'm not gonna say this soup magically healed her but I will say it probably did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Pasta Fagioli is wonderful recipe to make especially during Lent. Sometimes I would chop raw onions and add it to the top of the soup, which only enhances the flavors. I've been making this soup for over 60 years. Don't forget the fresh Italian bread. This is a great recipe! I wanted to add that sometimes I used ceci beans and a speck of ground hot pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Good basic soup. Great recipe. Simple..no gr. beef or other veggies needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Dauss

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Found Andrea's Pasta Fagioli recipe today. I had most of the ingredients in my pantry so I decided to give it a try. I only had (2) 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce so I pureed a 14 oz. can of stewed tomatoes and added both. I added some celery, 1 Knorr chicken bouillon cube, skipped the basil since I didnt have any and used whole wheat elbow macaroni, and added a 6 oz. bag of fresh baby spinach. Even with all of my changes WOW!!!! it is super good. I LOVE soup so I plan to have this often. Iv had this soup at Atlanta Bread Company and liked it but I have to say this version is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Yummy. I used vegetarian "chicken" broth instead of H2O and left out the salt. Used 1/2 pound of bow-tie pasta instead. Next time I would add fresh basil, parsley, and oregano at the end. I think I could have done w/o Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I will try it; I usually make Pasta Fagioli with ground beef, so this great as a vegetarian alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I save the rinds from the parmesan cheese and freeze them. Then when I make this soup, I throw in a rind. It melts down, slightly thickening the soup and giving a wonderful rich flavor! I also only put in 1/2 cup of pasta since I like my soup to have lot's of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
My recipe is very similar but I use half tamato sauce and half Spicy tomato juice. Like just a bit of a bite to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is delicious, my husband loves it. Loses one star because 1 lb of pasta is way too much, almost to the point of inedible. The first time i made it, I only HAD a half a box, so that is what I used and it was a hit. The second time, I followed the recipe to the letter and used a whole lb and wished I hadn't. Had to throw the rest out. Other than that though, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJELLA5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States