Andrea's Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
If you're looking for an authentic Italian pasta fagioli recipe, this is it. You can add whatever you want, but then it becomes minestrone or something else entirely. This is the recipe I've been making for as long as I've been cooking, except I use Roman beans when available. Cannelini are great too. Simplicity at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknbabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I am new at cooking but was told if you can read you can cook, well I can read very well. I decided to make this a surprise for my lady friend. I followed the recipe line for line, no variations. It was a disaster. who in their right mind would tell some one to use 1 pound of ditalini. I could not stir it cause it was so thick. In the future I will never ever believe a written recipe, or ever look at this web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bud Kauffeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Easy and everyone loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I make this recipe quite frequently. I made it once according to the recipe and have tweaked it to my families liking. I add white and red kidney beans or whatever I have on hand, fresh parsley, fresh spinach and some crushed red peppers for a little kick. To make it a heartier meal sometimes I serve it over tortellini. It freezes great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is what I want when I crave pasta fagioli. I subbed chicken broth for water and less pasta. Love that I can make it with pantry staples! Will make this often! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Loved this soup, made a couple slight changes. used 3 cups of chicken broth, 2 1/2 cups of water, 1 15 0z can diced tomatoes and 1 15 oz can of tomato sauce. Used two cans of Cannelloni beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I enjoyed the recipe but thought 1/2 lb ditalini was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is a good base to a delicious soup. I added some ketchup (for flavor and thickness), as well as chicken, and red pepper flakes. I also used spiral pasta instead of the recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Talk about comfort food!!! This fa-jool was AMAZING..My family slurped it up like there was no tomorrow! Made it exactly as specified, just added fresh basil and fresh oregano instead of dried. Absolutely KILLER!!! Served it up with some crusty garlic bread and some pinot gris. Andrea, Tell Grandma GRAZIE! Folks, trust me.....MAKE THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Oh my goodness this recipe is wonderful! So far I've made this recipe twice. The first time I made this recipe it was really good on its own. Now I just recently made this recipe again and let me tell you I understand how frustrating it is when people complain a recipe is "bad" after a million changes THE INDIVIDUAL MADE ON THEIR OWN. But this isn't the case, there's no harm letting people no what they did in addition to the recipe as long as you aren't bashing the original recipe without giving it a chance ( if that makes any sense lol ) Moving along, the second time I made this recipe I added carrots, celery, chicken broth instead of the water it called for, and finally I added crumbled mild Italian sausage while reducing the amount of pasta, and topping it off with just a tad more shredded parmesan cheese when I served the pasta fagioli. I personally loved it even more with the addition of Italian sausage. ( You can add Pancetta if you don't like the Italian sausage.) I completed this dish with wheat french bread and a salad. Thank you for submitting this recipe I appreciate it and don't be afraid to experiment with this dish, that's the beauty of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States