Andouille Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
When I read the ingredients for this recipe, I could almost taste it! It was a delicious recipe. I did make mine smaller to be able to put them in a roll for a sandwich and on the grill they are PHENOMENAL! This is a 'MUST HAVE' recipe for your list of sausages to make. The liquid smoke gave it a wonderful smokey taste without the smoker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
awesome, Hats off to you Edward. Your sausage is just the right blend, to begin with not too hot, it allows you to experiment with it and not set you on fire the first round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Instead of making sausage, I mixed the ingredients and fried the meat with chopped onions. I then added sliced boiled potato and some eggs that I had scrambled up. The spicing of the meat is incredible. This was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was heavenly. Like the others, I omitted the casings and made patties. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Fabulous taste...I have a tip for the casings...rinse well and soak them overnight in cold water with 2 cut up oranges (lemons are too acidic and will creates holes in casings)in refigerator. Next day drain and rinse well. My Italian family has been doing this for many, many years making soppressata. It removes that icky intestine odor and makes they whiter also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Sliders are popular these days so this recipe is an excellent alternative to beef sliders-better tasting and much cheaper. I omit the pork fat and casing. I use gloves and squeeze the mixture thoroughly to combine the spices. I form small slider size patties topped with cheese and onions. I've also used this sausage in soups. This recipe is very versatile, you can make the sausage as hot as you like. I am the chef at a sports bar and grill in Dania Beach, Florida. I will be making these Sausage Sliders for the Superbowl representing Louisiana along with Breaded Pork Tenderloin Sliders to represent Indiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this a couple weeks ago & although time intensive w/boning,chopping,grinding the meat, it was delicious. I didn't use liquid smoke and cut back the cayenne a little.I rolled it into links and we smoked them on the grill on cedar planks. Before tasting, I swore I would never make sausage again. But I definitely will. Freezes very well. I used it in shrimp gumbo and chopped fine in andouille (Charleston style)grits. Everyone at the gathering raved about both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I had my butcher make a batch of this sausage for us and it is outstanding. Have made several recipes of Jamalaya and gumbo with it so far. Just ordered another batch today... not yet ready to try making my own sausage. The butcher cut down on the fat in the recipe and it still was plenty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Absolutely fabulous! I tried it with ground chicken and my family can't get enough. I only added a few ingredients for my twist. I added chopped green onions and finely diced jalapeño. I also dropped the cayenne pepper because of the jalapeño but added a quality Cajun seasoning. Unbelievablely great! We just make patties and cook them. I will be using a sausage stuffer and smoking this real soon to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Recipe is solids. I added the proper amount of cure and then smoked the sausages. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States