Andouille Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
When I read the ingredients for this recipe, I could almost taste it! It was a delicious recipe. I did make mine smaller to be able to put them in a roll for a sandwich and on the grill they are PHENOMENAL! This is a 'MUST HAVE' recipe for your list of sausages to make. The liquid smoke gave it a wonderful smokey taste without the smoker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Instead of using the casings to make sausage, I bought a plastic hamburg maker ($4) and make sausage patties.It's a lot easier to deal with than the casings are! I think casings are more "tradition" than useful, now with refrigeration as it is today! I discouvered for the most part, I remove the casings when I use sausage anyhow... It's also easier for making sandwiches! Good Recipe!' ciao
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Tebaldi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I omitted hickory smoke. I am going to explore a different casing route. I kept smelling a pig farm, no, pork intestines. I did as the butcher instructed, flushing them with lots of water. I found them quite tough after boiling the sausage-strong odor of pig farm while cooking. I opted for patties with part of the recipe. Overall, this was a great experience and I look forward to more homemade sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
awesome, Hats off to you Edward. Your sausage is just the right blend, to begin with not too hot, it allows you to experiment with it and not set you on fire the first round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Instead of making sausage, I mixed the ingredients and fried the meat with chopped onions. I then added sliced boiled potato and some eggs that I had scrambled up. The spicing of the meat is incredible. This was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was heavenly. Like the others, I omitted the casings and made patties. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Fabulous taste...I have a tip for the casings...rinse well and soak them overnight in cold water with 2 cut up oranges (lemons are too acidic and will creates holes in casings)in refigerator. Next day drain and rinse well. My Italian family has been doing this for many, many years making soppressata. It removes that icky intestine odor and makes they whiter also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is not smoked?!?!? I thought Audouille was a smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Sliders are popular these days so this recipe is an excellent alternative to beef sliders-better tasting and much cheaper. I omit the pork fat and casing. I use gloves and squeeze the mixture thoroughly to combine the spices. I form small slider size patties topped with cheese and onions. I've also used this sausage in soups. This recipe is very versatile, you can make the sausage as hot as you like. I am the chef at a sports bar and grill in Dania Beach, Florida. I will be making these Sausage Sliders for the Superbowl representing Louisiana along with Breaded Pork Tenderloin Sliders to represent Indiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I don't really buy sausage links and detest natural casings so I used this recipe(with ground turkey) for my jambalaya. I would have liked a little more spice and I forgot the liquid smoke but the flavor was good regardless. I shaped the meat into little logs and baked it so that I could still slice chunks for the dish. I also used it in AR's tuscan soup recipe. I will be trying this with ground pork when I can find it. Thanks, Edward
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States