Andouille Sausage and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
EXCELLENT! I used a whole red and green pepper, just to use them up, and I omitted the thyme b/c I had none on hand and we are not fans of it anyways. Also, I reduced the cayenne by half, b/c I didn't want it to be too spicy for my little guy. This had such a wonderful, hearty flavor! We like our chowders a bit thicker, so I used a cornstarch slurry, just to tighten it up a little (I had no creamed corn on hand). Hubby raved and insisted on taking the leftovers to work for lunch tomorrow (believe me, that's a major compliment). I will def be making this again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was fantastic. I followed recipe almost exactly except used red potatoes and about half the thyme. I also threw in a few slices of turkey bacon and used chicken andouille sausage as a lighter alternative. This had a great spicy flavor and was a hit with the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was really very good. I added 2 minced jalapenos for some xtra peppery goodness. Try sprinkling smoked paprika on top--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
absolutely fantabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
this was so good my family loved it I did use canned corn instead of frozen half regular and half creamed and I didn't have any bell pepper so I used carrots instead. very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I left out the peppers and used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of cream…LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Made this recipe, thinking my girlfriend would like it and I would love it. Turns out I like it and she LOVES it! Only thing I change is using less chicken broth (approx. 4cups instead of 6) as she likes soup with more food then broth. IP: If using less broth, reduce the Cayenne Pepper accordingly, unless you like spicy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great flavor. I do wish that the broth was a little thicker. I think it would be improved with some cans of cream corn instead of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Really too much thyme, for our taste. Next time, will only use 1/4 tsp. But I WILL make it again! Very spicy-good. Dropped corn muffin in just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I forgot to add the thyme and I am glad I did that. Love the flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States