Andouille Sausage and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Enjoyed this a alot although 2t dried thyme is WAY too much imo. I used just under 1t and it was still a bit too much. Followed the submitter's suggestion of adding a can of creamed corn - liked the texture much better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was fantastic. I followed recipe almost exactly except used red potatoes and about half the thyme. I also threw in a few slices of turkey bacon and used chicken andouille sausage as a lighter alternative. This had a great spicy flavor and was a hit with the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Really too much thyme, for our taste. Next time, will only use 1/4 tsp. But I WILL make it again! Very spicy-good. Dropped corn muffin in just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was really very good. I added 2 minced jalapenos for some xtra peppery goodness. Try sprinkling smoked paprika on top--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
EXCELLENT! I used a whole red and green pepper, just to use them up, and I omitted the thyme b/c I had none on hand and we are not fans of it anyways. Also, I reduced the cayenne by half, b/c I didn't want it to be too spicy for my little guy. This had such a wonderful, hearty flavor! We like our chowders a bit thicker, so I used a cornstarch slurry, just to tighten it up a little (I had no creamed corn on hand). Hubby raved and insisted on taking the leftovers to work for lunch tomorrow (believe me, that's a major compliment). I will def be making this again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
this was so good my family loved it I did use canned corn instead of frozen half regular and half creamed and I didn't have any bell pepper so I used carrots instead. very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great flavor. I do wish that the broth was a little thicker. I think it would be improved with some cans of cream corn instead of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We LOVED your chowder, Wyattdogster! Thank you! I made two small changes for convenience purposes only. I had Cajun-style sausage in the freezer to use. I simply fried it with the vegetables, adding 1 large chopped carrot. I also used evaporated milk instead of the cream as I had planned to freeze some of it for later use. My friends on the Buzz recommended the canned milk as it won't seem curdled when I reheat the chowder from it's frozen state. I shared the soup with my sick brother and he loved it too. He was able to eat two ladles full and relished every bite. Now, that's success! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Delicious! I didn't measure my chopped veggies, just cut them up and threw them in the pot. I had one lone carrot in the vegetable drawer, so that also, went in the pot. Before adding the heavy cream (although I used Half and Half) I ladled out a large bowl full to make it dairy-free for a friend at work. She is gluten and dairy intolerant, but I know she will enjoy the flavor of this chowder. I then proceeded with the recipe and we really enjoyed it. After looking at two grocery stores for andouille sausage, I had to use 4 Pepper Spicy Kielbasa. Upon Googling it, it told me kielbasa was a good sub. The soup is delicious and has a nice spice to it, but not too spicy. Thanks Wyattdogster, for sharing your recipe. It is a keeper in our house. Can't wait to see how the girls at work like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Made this recipe, thinking my girlfriend would like it and I would love it. Turns out I like it and she LOVES it! Only thing I change is using less chicken broth (approx. 4cups instead of 6) as she likes soup with more food then broth. IP: If using less broth, reduce the Cayenne Pepper accordingly, unless you like spicy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States