Andouille Sausage and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Really too much thyme, for our taste. Next time, will only use 1/4 tsp. But I WILL make it again! Very spicy-good. Dropped corn muffin in just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was fantastic. I followed recipe almost exactly except used red potatoes and about half the thyme. I also threw in a few slices of turkey bacon and used chicken andouille sausage as a lighter alternative. This had a great spicy flavor and was a hit with the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Enjoyed this a alot although 2t dried thyme is WAY too much imo. I used just under 1t and it was still a bit too much. Followed the submitter's suggestion of adding a can of creamed corn - liked the texture much better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
EXCELLENT! I used a whole red and green pepper, just to use them up, and I omitted the thyme b/c I had none on hand and we are not fans of it anyways. Also, I reduced the cayenne by half, b/c I didn't want it to be too spicy for my little guy. This had such a wonderful, hearty flavor! We like our chowders a bit thicker, so I used a cornstarch slurry, just to tighten it up a little (I had no creamed corn on hand). Hubby raved and insisted on taking the leftovers to work for lunch tomorrow (believe me, that's a major compliment). I will def be making this again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Srs
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I've made this chowder twice and played with the seasonings. I like using fresh sausage but since it adds a lot of heat I cut down on the cayenne. I also took the advice of others and limited the thyme to 1/2 tsp which is just enough. My twist on this is to use sweet rather than white potato. Finally, I thicken the broth with flour and milk to give it more body. This is a great cold weather dish when you really want to have something hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was really very good. I added 2 minced jalapenos for some xtra peppery goodness. Try sprinkling smoked paprika on top--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
absolutely fantabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great flavor. I do wish that the broth was a little thicker. I think it would be improved with some cans of cream corn instead of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I forgot to add the thyme and I am glad I did that. Love the flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I left out the peppers and used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of cream…LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States