Andouille Sausage and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We LOVED your chowder, Wyattdogster! Thank you! I made two small changes for convenience purposes only. I had Cajun-style sausage in the freezer to use. I simply fried it with the vegetables, adding 1 large chopped carrot. I also used evaporated milk instead of the cream as I had planned to freeze some of it for later use. My friends on the Buzz recommended the canned milk as it won't seem curdled when I reheat the chowder from it's frozen state. I shared the soup with my sick brother and he loved it too. He was able to eat two ladles full and relished every bite. Now, that's success! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Delicious! I didn't measure my chopped veggies, just cut them up and threw them in the pot. I had one lone carrot in the vegetable drawer, so that also, went in the pot. Before adding the heavy cream (although I used Half and Half) I ladled out a large bowl full to make it dairy-free for a friend at work. She is gluten and dairy intolerant, but I know she will enjoy the flavor of this chowder. I then proceeded with the recipe and we really enjoyed it. After looking at two grocery stores for andouille sausage, I had to use 4 Pepper Spicy Kielbasa. Upon Googling it, it told me kielbasa was a good sub. The soup is delicious and has a nice spice to it, but not too spicy. Thanks Wyattdogster, for sharing your recipe. It is a keeper in our house. Can't wait to see how the girls at work like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
this was so good my family loved it I did use canned corn instead of frozen half regular and half creamed and I didn't have any bell pepper so I used carrots instead. very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Made this recipe, thinking my girlfriend would like it and I would love it. Turns out I like it and she LOVES it! Only thing I change is using less chicken broth (approx. 4cups instead of 6) as she likes soup with more food then broth. IP: If using less broth, reduce the Cayenne Pepper accordingly, unless you like spicy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I left out the peppers and used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of cream…LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I forgot to add the thyme and I am glad I did that. Love the flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great flavor. I do wish that the broth was a little thicker. I think it would be improved with some cans of cream corn instead of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
absolutely fantabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was really very good. I added 2 minced jalapenos for some xtra peppery goodness. Try sprinkling smoked paprika on top--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Srs
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I've made this chowder twice and played with the seasonings. I like using fresh sausage but since it adds a lot of heat I cut down on the cayenne. I also took the advice of others and limited the thyme to 1/2 tsp which is just enough. My twist on this is to use sweet rather than white potato. Finally, I thicken the broth with flour and milk to give it more body. This is a great cold weather dish when you really want to have something hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States