Andouille and Chicken Creole Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This wasn't bad. I followed the recipe exactly, except I left out the mushrooms, as I don't care for them. I even tried the suggestion of adding a bit of cayenne pepper. The amount of spice was perfect, however, I'm not sure if I cared for the sauce in general. It reminded me of gravy, but I suppose that is because of it's color. Also, where do the 2 tablespoons of margarine come in to play? I'm guessing when you cook the sausage and chicken, but the recipe doesn't say. Not sure if I'd make this one again, but it was a nice way to spruce up the ol' linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is delicious! I started by making a roux - I skipped the chicken, but sliced and fried the andouille with the onion (I used yellow because we didn't have green), melted a couple of Tablespoons of butter in the pan as well, and then added the flour to that. I added the liquids after cooking the roux and let it boil, then tossed in the rest of the veggies. (I used frozen pepper strips and fresh mushrooms.) I didn't have any creole seasoning, so I used: 1 tsp garlic salt, 1 tsp onion powder, 2 tsp Italian seasoning, 2 tsp paprika, and one shake of cayenne. The flavor was perfect for us! I served it over corkscrew pasta. I love that this is a "jambalaya" recipe for pasta. It's a nice change from the rice! I'll definitely be adding this to our dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Man. I am stuffed! I just got done eating this and it was awesome! It took a moderate amount of time to cook, about an hour and 15min. Most of that time was spend chopping veggies-easy enough to do. I cant believe that the only spices in this are creole seasoning and chili powder (i used about 1 tbs of creole, so that it wouldnt be overly spicey, and then made it up to the heat i wanted by adding chili powder) This tastes like a lot more would go into it, very yummy! The veggies can be customized to whatever you're in the mood for and same with the pasta. I wasn't able to find andoullie sausage so I just used italian, and it came out really good. I didn't find this to be overly salty and I used Tony's Creole seasoning. I will make this again for sure, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I am sorry, but this dish was way too salty for my taste. Maybe it was my brand of Cajun seasoning. The only change I made to the original recipe was using freshly grated lemon peel and fresh ground pepper instead of the lemon pepper seasoning. I liked the spicyness of this dish, but the saltiness really turned me off. Maybe I will try it again using my own blend of spices instead of store bought seasoning so I can control the amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatyourheartout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was okay. If I make it again I will definitely use a whole lot less creole seasoning...it was just way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris annette beason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Malvern, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Easy to make and very good. The spice was just enough. My fiance loved it! I used Chili seasoning because I could not find creole. Would recommend this to anyone who likes a dish with a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Through the enormous amount of heat this dish packs the flavor is excellent. Add some okra and it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pugnificent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Made this without milk and used Cajun spice, not Creole (which I couldn't find at the market), and cut the recipe for about 2. My husband loved it (so did I) and asked to have it again. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I would say if you used a homemade version of Creole spice without salt this would be great. But, as is, it is too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Delish! Will definitely make again. Smells so good while it's cooking, and the taste does not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States