Andalusian Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This isn't soup. It would be better blended as used as salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Despite the high yield and simplicity of the recipe, the beans ruin it. According to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
From someone who lived in Seville, this is a great recipe, unfortunately it is not andalusian gazpacho. Like other reviewers have mentioned there are ingredients here that are never in andalusian gazpacho (or gazpacho in general). The ones that bother me most are the navy beans, celery, basil, and tomato juice. But what is MOST glaringly missing is the STALE BREAD. On top of that andalusian gazpacho is blended to a puree. I like salsa-esque gazpachos, but andalusian gaspacho is not of a salsa consistency. Keep it simple: fresh veggies (tomato, cukes, green & red peppers), good olive oil, stale bread, red wine or sherry vinegar, garlic, salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I did not modify this recipe at all, and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
No matter how good this soup is, it is NOT Andalusian Gazpacho. I should know, I am a Spaniard. No cumin, no beans, no celery, no basil, no oregano and no parsley. The tomatoes are real, fresh ones, not juice. And the onions should be regular, not green. Don't mean to be vindicative, just accurate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Ok, not bad but not a Andalusian Gazpacho that I lived on for eleven Summers in Jerez, Andalusia. Cut the beans, juice and most of the spices and add a tall cold glass of Tinto Verano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
not that good.OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I've been looking for this soup recipe found several throughout the years. This one is #1! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rona Jean Craddock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Although this was easy I ended up throwing out all the leftovers. I think using fresh tomatoes rather than canned juice will make a big difference. I would reccomend trying a recipe with fresh ingredients before this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Delicious, easy, and inexpensive. I did, however, simmer for a short period then chilled and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States