Anchovy Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a good recipe. I added the green onions as recommended by another reviewer. I also added a can of diced tomatoes with the liquid, skipping the water. Next time, I will reduce the amount of olive oil by two tablespoons. Overall, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very good recipe! If you enjoy traditional, authentic Italian cuisine, you will enjoy this recipe. The only modification I made to the recipe is as follows: - I substituted 3 (2.0 oz.) cans of Anchovy Filets for 1 (2.0 oz.) can Anchovy Filets, chopped. The reason for the substitution: My husband is Italian and the recipe matches the same method utilized by his Mother (from Italy), with the exception of the quantity of anchovies. In her preperation, she uses one can of anchovy filets in olive oil and it has always produced a mild fish flavor as opposed to the overpowering anchovy flavor, by using three. Top with freshly grated Italian cheese (of your choice) and enjoy! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XTAPOLAPOCET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I actually was about to post this same recipe as it was passed down from my Italian grandmother. Fabulous recipe. I have gotten friends to fall in love with it when they didn't even LIKE anchovies! it is on the salty side (which I feel is offset a little by the garlic). If re-heating, drizzle a little water over the pasta because this is a dry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Wow. Very tasty. Had some leftovers anchovies from making Caesar salad the night before and this was a great way to use them up. I topped it off with Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
After years of going out on Christmas Eve, my sister and I decided to try to recreate the dinner our Italian family had on Christmas Eve when we were kids. I remember anchovy pasta being one of my favorites but neither of us remembered how to make it. I decided to try this recipe and it was a hit! I made a couple of minor changes: did not mince the garlic - just smashed & left it whole, used basil instead of parsley and added a couple of shakes of red pepper flakes. My son, nephew and brother-in-law loved this so much I only got a small serving because they devoured the rest. I will definitely come back to this recipe next year! Thanks for giving me a chance to recreate one of my favorite childhood memories of Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I grew up with a similar recipe, no meat on Fridays back then, so my Mom was always busy making the meatless meals for Fridays. So I went ahead to make this recipe. It turned out great, I used a bit more garlic, also sauteed fresh mushroom (I had them in the refrig) with the garlic, a bit of clam juice instead of water, lots of fresh parsley, about 2 T fresh lemon juice and also some zest from the lemon. It was so good, I served with a fresh tomato salad and hot Italian bread. Make this and add what you like or make the changes you think would be best for you and your family. This is a great recipe to play with for your own flavor choices. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Easy to make - however, we thought this was just ok. I added a small onion, chopped and about 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes per the suggestion of other reviews. I omitted the parsley since I didn't have fresh. I like ceasar salad dressing with real anchovies, however this just wasn't what I expected. My son ended up adding salt to the dish and thought that made it better. Will not make again. Hoping left overs will taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This recipe has been in my family for generations as a Christmas Eve staple in our Italian house hold! I grew up looking forward to this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReginaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is amazing! I've been looking for a recipe to replicate a dish my Italian aunt makes at Christmas Eve and this was just as good. After I tossed through the anchovy sauce I also added some lightly toasted panko breadcrumbs and some extra chopped parsley. It was divine, even my 3 y.o. enjoyed it and my husband who doesn't like anchovy cleaned his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I didn't love this recipe. I try not to change things until I've made it at least once following the recipe exactly, but I only had one 2-oz can of anchovies, and I was out of fresh parsley, so to this recipes credit, maybe it didn't have a fair chance. Even taking that into consideration, I thought this recipe was bland and I don't know that another 1/2 tin of anchovies would have made the difference to bring it up to a 4 or 5 star recipe. Maybe something in place of the water? My boys did like it though, so I will be trying it again when I have all of the exact ingredients. Thanks for a great idea using anchovies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States