Ancho-Chipotle Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I make a similar version all the time (Mexican husband!). I omit the onion & cumin and add Adobo seasoning. We use 2 small cans tomato sauce & 1 can petite diced tomatoes. Lime juice and a LOT of cilantro suit our tastes. GREAT in winter when fresh tomatoes are not the best. If you like the strong vinegar/acid flavor of supermarket jarred salsa, fresh salsa probably is not for you. Tweak the recipe to suit your tastes-so fun to change it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
used 5 fresh roma (plum) tomatoes. used about 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper instead of the ancho (what I had on hand). I did not seed the chiptole chile and added about 1/2 T of the adobe sauce from the can of peppers. I also put in about 1/2 T chili powder. I used a food processor. I'm sure this would have been 5 stars without the changes, but it definitely was 5 stars with the changes. Update: I made 4 different salsas and had the husband try each. This was the winner (with the above changes) and the one I will be canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was wonderful! The smokey flavor and great texture reminded me of the fresh salsa you get at a restaurant. Mild to medium heat but a lot of flavor. I wouldn't change a thing and plan on making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
For our tastes this recipe required more jalapenos, more chipotles, more garlic, more onion, more cilantro, and more cumin. I'm willing to concede that we may walk on the wild side a bit though :-) I was hoping this would be comparable to jarred salsa or jarred picante sauce but sadly, this recipe as written cannot replace those. The smoky flavor from the chipotles is particularly nice. Thanks for the great jumping off point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very, very good salsa. This is authentic Mexican salsa, not the jarred stuff with chunks of tomato in it. Very versatile as well, increase the peppers to increase the heat. Great with chips or as a sauce with dinner! I can't believe a review said this was not as good as jarred salsa.... what!?!? And salsa (or any other authentic Mexican dish) does not use chili powder... that's strictly an American creation. Give this salsa a try... quite a bit like what you would get in a Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Very versatile. You can make it hotter or not so hot. Didn't have ancho chilis so used more jalapenos. So much cheaper and yummier than the jarred stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKRIS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was my first time ever trying to make salsa. I followed this recipe, and was very pleased; so was everyone else who tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Blau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I found this rather flat and tasteless. I had to keep adding salt and sugar to try to balance it out. I still didn't have much luck with it. It's not bad, just not great. I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I tend to stick with Salsa verde, but this was a good change of pace. I used a bit more adobe sauce to kick it up a notch. Family loves it, so it passes the test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
The recipe does not call for dicing the peppers and onion before combining with the tomatoes in the blender....Is it recommended that you put them in whole, or am I missing something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States