Ancho-Chipotle Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This is a fantastic salsa! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was wonderful! The smokey flavor and great texture reminded me of the fresh salsa you get at a restaurant. Mild to medium heat but a lot of flavor. I wouldn't change a thing and plan on making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I'd rate it 5 stars except there was way too much cilantro for my tastes. Made it to-the-letter the first time and the flavor was overpowering. The second time, I cut back on cilantro to about 1/2 tsp. and also doubled the chipotle peppers for a smokier taste. With those two changes it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Yum! SO good and easy! I am serving this for company tonight and will definitely be making it again! The only thing I did differently was I used diced tomatoes with green chiles instead of the whole tomatoes and I didn't seed the chipotle chile, but the spiciness is just right for our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Salsa was awesome, great smoky flavor from the ancho chipotles. I used an extra jalapeno to add extra spice and used lime juice instead of lemon juice. I also like to use red onion and dice it up finely by hand as opposed to putting it into the food processor, I find the food processor pulverizes the onion and releases to much of th juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I make a similar version all the time (Mexican husband!). I omit the onion & cumin and add Adobo seasoning. We use 2 small cans tomato sauce & 1 can petite diced tomatoes. Lime juice and a LOT of cilantro suit our tastes. GREAT in winter when fresh tomatoes are not the best. If you like the strong vinegar/acid flavor of supermarket jarred salsa, fresh salsa probably is not for you. Tweak the recipe to suit your tastes-so fun to change it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Good bit of heat and smokiness. The consistency was good, but a bit too watery. The flavor was right and I always love cilantro. Watch out though, this stuff sticks with you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
What a wonderful salsa! I've been wondering how to make salsa like this and if I knew how easy it was I'd have made it much earlier. I didn't have Ancho (I know, I know, it's the first word in the recipe) but I upped the chipotle and garlic. It was delicious. Not as spicy as I had anticipated I might even add more chipotle or the jalepeno with seeds next time. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
VERY GOOD! The directions were not clear on wether to drain the excess liquid from the tomatoes, so I just put it aside in case I needed it...I did not use it. I did not seed the jalapeno or the chipotle and it gave the salsa an awesome spicy kick. Also, I omitted the cilantro due to personal preference. I'm a huge fan of chipotle, and this had a wonderful smokey flavor that we loved. In case anyone is wondering, this is not a thick, chunky salsa, but more of a medium consistancy. I think this would also be great as a 'taco sauce' type condiment. We REALLY enjoyed this and I will be making it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this just as is for me, my girlfriend and a bottle of wine! Restaurant quality and so easy to have on hand. Perfect as is, I made not changes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States