Ancho-Chipotle Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I'm re-writing my review because I made this salsa again and I absolutely loved it this time. The first time is wasn't quite spicy enough so this time I used a good 2" piece of the ancho pepper and 2 chipotle peppers, unseeded. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
For our tastes this recipe required more jalapenos, more chipotles, more garlic, more onion, more cilantro, and more cumin. I'm willing to concede that we may walk on the wild side a bit though :-) I was hoping this would be comparable to jarred salsa or jarred picante sauce but sadly, this recipe as written cannot replace those. The smoky flavor from the chipotles is particularly nice. Thanks for the great jumping off point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
used 5 fresh roma (plum) tomatoes. used about 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper instead of the ancho (what I had on hand). I did not seed the chiptole chile and added about 1/2 T of the adobe sauce from the can of peppers. I also put in about 1/2 T chili powder. I used a food processor. I'm sure this would have been 5 stars without the changes, but it definitely was 5 stars with the changes. Update: I made 4 different salsas and had the husband try each. This was the winner (with the above changes) and the one I will be canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
The recipe does not call for dicing the peppers and onion before combining with the tomatoes in the blender....Is it recommended that you put them in whole, or am I missing something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this just as is for me, my girlfriend and a bottle of wine! Restaurant quality and so easy to have on hand. Perfect as is, I made not changes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
VERY GOOD! The directions were not clear on wether to drain the excess liquid from the tomatoes, so I just put it aside in case I needed it...I did not use it. I did not seed the jalapeno or the chipotle and it gave the salsa an awesome spicy kick. Also, I omitted the cilantro due to personal preference. I'm a huge fan of chipotle, and this had a wonderful smokey flavor that we loved. In case anyone is wondering, this is not a thick, chunky salsa, but more of a medium consistancy. I think this would also be great as a 'taco sauce' type condiment. We REALLY enjoyed this and I will be making it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
What a wonderful salsa! I've been wondering how to make salsa like this and if I knew how easy it was I'd have made it much earlier. I didn't have Ancho (I know, I know, it's the first word in the recipe) but I upped the chipotle and garlic. It was delicious. Not as spicy as I had anticipated I might even add more chipotle or the jalepeno with seeds next time. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Good bit of heat and smokiness. The consistency was good, but a bit too watery. The flavor was right and I always love cilantro. Watch out though, this stuff sticks with you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I make a similar version all the time (Mexican husband!). I omit the onion & cumin and add Adobo seasoning. We use 2 small cans tomato sauce & 1 can petite diced tomatoes. Lime juice and a LOT of cilantro suit our tastes. GREAT in winter when fresh tomatoes are not the best. If you like the strong vinegar/acid flavor of supermarket jarred salsa, fresh salsa probably is not for you. Tweak the recipe to suit your tastes-so fun to change it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Salsa was awesome, great smoky flavor from the ancho chipotles. I used an extra jalapeno to add extra spice and used lime juice instead of lemon juice. I also like to use red onion and dice it up finely by hand as opposed to putting it into the food processor, I find the food processor pulverizes the onion and releases to much of th juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States